Sky-High Engagement: Mastering the Onboarding Journey for Ryanair’s Email List

Abdul Altabchi
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readMar 24, 2024

Email Marketing:

Although many people believe email marketing is dying, the facts do not support that. Email marketing has proven to provide a great ROI. Email is still considered one of the most effective channels for marketing. In fact, brands made $36 per dollar spent on email marketing. That’s because people who receive these emails, for the most part, actively want to be receiving information from brands. People will not stay on an email list if they do not want to. When people voluntarily sign up to receive information from a brand, they are more likely to buy from them. All information came from here.

Ryanair Onboarding Process:

First, I googled “Ryanair email list.” I realize most people will not do this, they’ll most likely just sign up for an account on the website, but I personally want to compare the two methods. For this method, all you do is put in your email address and then log into your email account to verify. It took no more than 30 seconds to do everything. It was very fast and easy.

When I signed up for an actual account, all I had to do was create a username and password. After that, I received a verification email that gave a passcode to activate my account. From there my account was made. Again, it took about 30 seconds to complete. Very fast and easy, but when I created the account there was no personal information put in or a little check mark that says you consent to receiving emails from them. I am not sure if this is because I had already signed up for their mailing list, or if it is because they are going to send you emails regardless.

Did I Receive Emails?

I received one confirmation email and I received one advertisement in 3 days of being subscribed. I am curious to see how often they’ll send emails throughout the month, but so far it has not been too much. I would also be curious to see how often they send emails in the winter and summer months. I assume these things fluctuate based on timing and overall promotions they want to push.

Opinion:

I personally believe that Ryanair is doing a good job. Although I have not had the opportunity to fully evaluate their email campaign strategy, I can say their onboarding process was very smooth. It was very quick, efficient, and did not ask too many questions. It actually asked no questions other than my email. From a consumer perspective, this is awesome! From a marketing perspective, I want to be able to obtain as much information about the person signing up as possible so I can tailor ads to that individual. That being said, they could obtain information about the person later through other means like when they purchase a ticket. Overall the consumer-focused approach is awesome. When things are fast, efficient, and not overwhelming then consumers will be more inclined to sign up.

--

--

Abdul Altabchi
Marketing in the Age of Digital

I am currently a graduate student at NYU studying Integrated Marketing. My blogs will be unique, fresh, and my unfiltered opinion about marketing.