Sneak peak into my digital diary

Monika Solanki
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readSep 18, 2022

Dear Reader,
Hello! It’s me, a girl who loves writing. I was the person that wanted to major in English literature but then thought it through and realized it’s just a passion and I shouldn’t make it a career. One of my life goals is to write a book by the time I reach my thirties, and that’s the only goal of mine to which I set a time limit to. Interesting, isn’t it? Here I am starting my blog and telling you all how much I love writing and reading and just being immersed in the world of art where everything is different. Reading inspires me to go into the world of the unknown and that’s what I want my writing to do to people. Life is tough and people will revert to saying so are you, but I am here to tell you it’s either the truth if you let it or false if you don’t allow yourself to go over your comfort zone. My life has been like a rollercoaster since I moved countries and ill tell you, it isn’t only hard but so exciting. Every turn you take in your life is terrifying and yet so exhilarating.

Just your average writer who loves art

One year ago, I was in my bedroom reading an author who writes substack, which is another medium where everyone writes, and let me tell you, I have never been inspired more. She was an average writer who told their readers how she loves art and how she loves her city, which happens to be my city now. I was so inspired by her writings that I wrote an extremely emotional letter about how she makes me fall in love with New York and how whatever she writes has a way of touching my heart in a way no one has done yet and I have read many classics and many books to say that hers was that type of art which you carry for years. Some things just give you give you a sense of feeling where it will make you feel inspired or extreme sadness or just pure joy and happiness. After a year and here I am in New York, building my life and proving exactly what I wanted to prove in that letter that I will come here and see the world through her eyes.

new york in all its glory

New York has its ups and downs; it has its types of highs and lows. People call it the city of dreams and the city of love for a reason. The first thing I did after moving was to fall in love with this city. Friends, relationships, and family come and go and I cherish them so much, but there’s something about this city and exploring it. I have been a lover of arts and food and fashion and this is where I can make use of it all. I even was a fashion blogger for quite a while, then life happened, but this is where I can start to write again. I completed my bachelor’s in business administration and I am currently doing my master’s in marketing now in New York. Digital marketing and I have a long relationship where I have tried blogging in form of writing, in form of being a micro-influencer, and in form of career-wise. Marketing has been with me for so long and this is the one aspect where I can tell you, it will stay with me too. I will convey my love for other things the next time we meet, until then.

Goodbye and try to fall in love with marketing and my writing, maybe?

I hope you keep reading.

-ms

--

--

Monika Solanki
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU grad student and a writer who is also a lover of art, fashion and simplicity