“SpoiledChild” isn’t spoiled at all….

Xintong Ye
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readFeb 6, 2024

One day, when I was searching the Instagram Reels for entertainment, a new skincare brand named “SpoiledChild” popped up on my phone.

At first, I wasn’t paying too much attention to that, it’s just the regular “Before and After” ins ad as usual. As we all know, it is the “Advertisement, not the “Reality”.

However, eventually, I bought their product just within a week. It is unusual, right? And it is an interesting story.

Within 3 days later, the exact same reel ads popped up again. And it happened to be a boring Sunday morning, none of my friends were awake, so I had nothing to do with my phone.

I just clicked the link under that product.

TIME IS CRUCIAL.

Typically, I would just scan the website and turn it off, however, this time the survey came first. It felt like an engaging game for me and gave me just one specific product that perfectly matched my condition. That’s so targeted and easy to choose.

As a result, I bought it.

If I am just a general customer, the story will end in that way. However, as a marketer, I keep wondering what drives me to make the purchase. What is the difference or outstanding point of this brand?

Then I think it is the “Experience”.

As a new skincare brand, SpoiledChild uses an AI algorithm , it calls SpoiledBrain, which crunched over 250,000 data points gathered from focus groups and sister-brand Il Makiage to formulate products and provide recommendations to customers. Customers can go through a two-minute questionnaire to be matched with one primary product and up to three additional products.

AI-generated” “Personalized” and “Age-control” are three keywords for the brand.

And their user experience did a very great job around those words.

Firstly, the survey pops up before the product display page which offers customers a very personalized and professional purchase experience.

And the survey is well-designed. On the one hand, it has little cute icons for each choice, which will be much easier for us customers to choose our current situation.

For example, when it comes to our hair condition.It asks us “How would you describe the appearance of your hair?”

And to be honest, sometimes it is hard to distinguish between “Frizzy and needs damage control” and “Brittle with spilled ends”. However, with the small icon nearby, it will be much better for me to make my choice.

Small icons for each question

On the other hand, it is a mixed-mode survey, so that people wouldn’t just click the “middle” one unconsciously and ensure the accuracy of the data.

Mixed-mode survey

Then, when customers finish the survey, they will receive the result that which product perfectly matches them, the website also offers the option of “try before you buy”. Even though I think most people wouldn’t bother to return the product they have used to use daily. This option gives them a very reliable impression that this brand is “trustworthy”.

Try befor you buy

And the previous things happened just on my tiny phone within 10 minutes. However, I also visit their website after my purchase.

It’s a lovely colorful website. Their slogan “Age is an old idea” is so huge that no one will ignore it. And their survey button also comes with that — — the“spoiledbrain”, together with the purpose of the survey “Find out exactly what you need.

The first impression of the website perfectly shows its brand value and characteristics. Customers can easily see it and click on it when they enter the website for 2 seconds. The three categories are also very simple and concise above. However, some fonts of their “slogan” may not be very easy to read, even if it is very distinguished and special.

Overall, it is a very good experience for me. I also received several emails to guide me on how to properly use the product. And the voice of the emails is more like a real-world friend not just a robot (even if it does), which makes me more close to the brand and form a really good relationship with it.

The highest evaluation for a brand is:

“I love it”

--

--

Xintong Ye
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Currently study Marketing in NYU | Used to be a director of film, but also a director of life......