Start a Brand-new Day with Starbucks

YUMENG LI
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readMar 9, 2020

People are no stranger to Starbucks, especially in the big city. I can see a Starbucks every few blocks. When I was in my undergraduate school, I always spent all my beautiful afternoon in the library with a cup of coffee I like. What I could not avoid was the big line in the school Starbucks. It always took me more than 20 minutes to order and to wait in a line. However, after I downloaded the Starbucks app, everything changed.

Although Starbucks kind of corner the market in some areas, this Starbucks app is still a revolution in the coffee beverage market. All the designs and styles are the same as the Starbucks stores on the street which convey a good brand image and tone. I think Starbucks enthusiasts are really loyal to this uniform style. Also, this app is so easy to use and solve some practical problems for customers indeed. People can use this app to order ahead. The big line in the store is avoided and customers can save a lot of time to make buying coffee more joyful. After I download this app, I just unlock my phone and open the app to click the coffee I want to have then wait for a couple of minutes to go to the store to pick it up. Everything is so simple and convenient. People who want to buy a coffee without a line will download this app.

This app encourages more and more people to become a member of Starbucks. It’s easier to sign up for a membership on the smartphone. People can accumulate stars every time they purchase in Starbucks. I have to say the idea of an empty bottle that is filled with stars gradually is so cute. There are also lots of privileges for customers who have membership on their app, like, birthday rewards, free in-store refills, pay by phone and member events and offers. I think it is attractive enough for people who drink coffee as a daily habit.

People can even get coffee delivery in China. Using the Starbucks app, people can order what they want in the office, school or at home and someone will deliver the coffee to them. The Starbucks company even design a special plastic bottle for delivery orders to prevent spilling coffee on the way.

All the functions and all the details are designed for customers’ convenience. It is not an app that only has some advertising on it and people would forget they downloaded it one day. It is an app that people will actually use and use it frequently. For me, I try to limit my intake of caffeine every day, but this app seems to have some alarm function to remind me “you need to have a cup of vanilla latte and take a break.”

--

--