Stay true to yourself

Hongwei Wang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJun 14, 2022

Before doing THE FASCINATE TEST, out of curiosity, I googled many personality tests and they all tell you “how you see the world”, only Sally Hogshead’s THE FASCINATE TEST tells you “how the world sees” you”.

We exist in this information age flooded with the web and short videos, where everything is fast-paced. Even many people are reluctant to go to the cinema and spend two hours watching a movie, and would rather open a short video and spend a few minutes watching a quick cut version of the movie. In the strong Internet economy, each of us has many social accounts, some like to browse, some like to share. And Sally Hogshead told us in a TED talk that people only have 9 seconds of concentration on the Internet browsing. Knowing how the world sees you, holding on to your personal brand also seems well worth studying.

What is my archetype?

This type of person are hard worker and punctual. And they are very driven, they have high standards and they value results very much.

What are your primary and secondary triggers?

My primary trait and my secondary trait are actually very similar.

My primary trigger is ALERT. This type of person has strong determination and likes to make plans and goals, and then follow the standards to complete them. They work hard, don’t cut corners, and like high-quality results. They are also very demanding of their team and are reluctant to take risks for fear of deviating from their own plans.

My secondary advantage is PRESTIGE. This type of people likes to be respected by others, pays attention to details, and has a competitive spirit. At the same time, they also have high demands and high expectations of themselves and others, and they influence others.

Did it feel true to you?

I thought I was a very casual, emotional person. I love procrastination. I’m very fond of trying new things, not sticking to them easily, and always muddling along.

In fact, these traits only show up when I’m doing something I care about. My behavior at work is very close to testing. I am a person who likes desserts very much, and I have eaten all over the Internet celebrity dessert shops in California. By chance, I turned my hobby into a dream and a career, and I went from seller to buyer. Probably out of love and duty, I could revise the recipe and study it all night. I do focus more on results. Although I am very confident, but at the same time I also care about the evaluation of customers. At the same time, I do set a set of standards for the team and ask customers for feedback from time to time to make timely adjustments. I have been in close communication with my team, even in different places. While I enjoy my hard work attitude, it also confirms that I value results. At work, I was also amazed at how serious and focused I was, something I had never explored before.

How can you use this information in your career and building your personal brand?

Although there may be different qualities of me in life. But in my work, I am indeed a very rigorous, serious and hard-working person. I will use my primary advantage to influence my team. Make them follow a high standard of work output. At the same time, my secondary advantage tells me that if I have to win the respect of others, I have to do my job well. This is a very good way to promote my work attitude, better control the details, and make everything look its best. I very much hope that others, especially my business partners, will see me as a trustworthy partner. My effort and seriousness will make others trust me enough to approach me.

--

--