Staycation or Vacation?

Parima Persaud
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 20, 2022

Pack your bags. We’re goin’ on a trip!

What makes me want to go on a trip to a specific place? Activities to do there. The experience others have had there. Heck, the pictures I see on Instagram makes me want to book many trips!

But we’re not here to talk about a destination. We’re here to discuss the place you stay at when you go on vacation. In this case, Hyatt.

Hyatt is known as a company offering “upscale but affordable stays.” Well at least that’s what Google says. The company overall has 3 tiers of hotels: Collections Portfolio, Boundless Portfolio, and their top tier Timeless Portfolio (which is basically the cost of 1 of my NYU courses converted to a night’s stay).

One branch that caught my eye was Park Hyatt. The name yelled simplicity, while the price yelled, “Give me all your money!” When I took to their website on my laptop, I was utterly suprised.

The main page for Park Hyatt was only a branch off of the World of Hyatt website. They displayed luxurious images of a few properties and had paragraphs…talking about each individual thing that’s special about the property. Honestly, I don’t think someone who wants to book a classy, upscale trip will sit on their desktop to read each of these. So I moved to my phone to see what the website looked like on there. It got worse.

Aesthetically pleasing with the images and font? Hard yes.

Pleasure to use and browse? Hard no.

For a company that wants to provide a luxurious experience, I don’t think their website expresses that. There is no way to view the properties and I’m pretty sure if I had the money and was considering Hyatt, I would leave the website faster than I entered. Biggest concern of all was the customer service. Even if I had a question, there was no way for me to interact with anyone, whether it was a chatbot or someone from the company on the other end.

After seeing this website, I was disappointed. Many have raved about staying at the Hyatt but I just don’t see myself following that trend. It’s as if I were to invest in a Chanel bag and received Whole Food’s paper bag quality. That’s not cool.

So I leave these wise words of advice for you, dear reader.

If a company does not show any interest from the beginning to want you to be with them, don’t do it.

But definitely, go book that next trip. We all need a vacation every now and then!

Love&Light Always — Pari

--

--

Parima Persaud
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU | Integrated Marketing. Mental Health Awareness advocate. Spiritual & Self-Care enthusiast. All while drinking tea avidly.