Stumble along in Finding Myself

SilviaTian
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readJul 7, 2023

When I was in high school, I did not have any idea about what my major ought to be. I have lots of hobbies but I don’t think I can take them as my major choices. I like playing basketball but I definitely cannot be a basketball player, in that professional way. I like singing songs but I cannot be a singer. After getting into the university, I randomly chose one which is not that academic since I suggested the filmmaking stuff would not be as boring as a major like math.

About Me
Back to my own, my name is Silvia Tian. My original name is Xuwen, but I think it is hard for people to pronounce, and I used Silvia during my whole high school life. I graduated from Indiana University Bloomington, majoring in narrative filmmaking. You probably would be curious about why a pre-filmmaker changes her major to marketing. I would say I am still a person who does not have a clear goal of her life and not every filmmaker can earn money at last.

How I connect Filmmaking & Marketing?
Although it seems that filmmaking and marketing have a huge gap, what I am doing now somehow connected them. I decided to become a “vlogger” in March 2022 since I understand taking videos and doing post-production is what I am familiar with. By making efforts for it, I gain over 12 thousand followers on a Chinese social media platform called “Red”. It is not a huge number but it is a good beginning. I received lots of seeding and got paid by brands for promotion posts, and I do learn lots of marketing strategies through the whole process.

I do not have a clear career plan for now, but I believe I can find myself through every step I take. I enjoy the progress even though I do not know what my destination is. However, I would dig more into digital marketing to find my path since it is the most attrative thing to me for now.

--

--