Sugarbear: Does the design of the website give you more motivation to buy products?

Wenyi Wu
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJul 31, 2023

When you’re shopping for a product, would you buy it if it had a really nice and cute website that matched your aesthetic? I will.

Aesthetics determines the first impression

In my mind, the aesthetics of a product play a part in my decision to buy that product. Whether it’s a person or a brand, first impressions often come from visuals.

https://sugarbearpro.com/

This is the homepage image of Sugarbear official website, for my opinion, this image looks very healing and I like it very much. The main color is blue supplemented by pink and purple.

According to Vmg Sutidos research, in general, blue is the main color preferred by both female and male. In addition, purple and turquoise are generally liked among most female. Turquoise is a combination color of both blue and green, which are in the top 3 colors for female across multiple studies.

Sugarbear’s main target customers are female, so the choice of this image is smart and may attract the attention of more female customers, which is more likely to lead to a transaction.

Contracted design

I used both my phone and computer to open the website, and I found the layout on my phone to be a bit smoother and more comprehensive than on my computer.

Sugarbear’s web design is minimalist, it doesn’t have a lot of contents, just categories like new product launches, vitamins, eyelash care, gifts and accessories. It’s easy to see at a glance, and customers are able to find the products they want to buy easily.

However, when I tried to find out the brand information, I didn’t see it. When I was puzzled, I scrolled down to the bottom to see some contents about the brand. As a first time consumer on the site, I didn’t see anything about the brand in the homepage, I just knew it was a brand about vitamins. Product features should be highlighted like vegan, halal Certified, cruelty-Free and incorporating plant-based ingredients.

Therefore, I think maybe a slogan or a simple brand description could be placed somewhere on the homepage so that people can learn about it as soon as they click in.

Thoughtful and Convenient Service

I don’t know if you have noticed in the first picture, there is a 20% off sale information in the bottom left corner, when clicking on it, it will automatically jump to a page, letting customers enter their email address to receive more news about the brand, so that they can get the coupon. This will further strengthen the consumer’s willingness to buy.

In the right corner, there is a Chatbox with an AI service to help consumers with their queries, and if the AI is unable to answer, then it will connect to an agent who can answer the queries and solve the problems.

For offline purchases, Sugarbear also offers a Store Locator, which includes all the stores and retailers where Sugarbear products can be purchased, not just the flagship stores!

END

--

--