Tell Me the Main Reason Why You Start Your First Blog!

YANG LIANG
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readMay 30, 2022

My first blog is starting right here!

Hi everybody! Welcome to my channel! Let me first tell you why I am writing the first blog. Because my summer class, Digital Marketing, gives me a chance to try to post blogs, not only look at others’ pages. I would say blogging become another challenging chapter for me to share marketing information and display attractive sources for audiences. Last semester in the integrated marketing class, it was an excellent opportunity for me as a learner to post on Twitter because I had never used this social media before. Right now, I am going to use Medium to post blogs and communicate online every week.

To be honest, I felt a little anxious when I look at the blank webpage. What’s the correct format for a personal blog? How do I start? How do I make my content attract the audience? Those are the questions I am worried about. However, brave attempts always support me in learning and improving from my mistakes.

Can’t wait to introduce myself!

My name is Yang Liang, and I am an international student from Jiangsu, China. Here’s a lovely story about my name. Liang and Yang consist of my father’s and mother’s last names. I am the only child in my family. At the age of sixteen, I made a big decision and told my parents I wanted to study abroad in the United States. I understood my parents felt about how an underage girl takes a flight and live in another country without family. The different environments and diversified cultures gave me a chance to fit in and challenged me to become more independent.

So, I went to Hanalani High School in Hawaii. Some people may be curious about why a Chinese girl decided to go to school in Hawaii. Let me tell you! First, my best friend went to the same high in Hawaii, and she recommended this beautiful state to me. Second, I wanted to be different from others’ experiences because most international students like to choose big states or famous cities, such as California and Boston. However, Hawaii is different than other states. It’s a small state consisting of several islands. The people there are very kind and friendly. Moreover, many local customs like Aloha shirts and Hula dance are unique. I enjoyed my three years in Hawaii — the school camping activities, the lab activities organized by the teachers, and the good memories with my host family.

After high school, I decided to move to the mainland and applied for colleges in other cities, such as New York or Los Angles. Therefore, I graduated from Stony Brook University major in Business Management last year. From Hawaii to New York, the different environments and cultural backgrounds broadened my horizons and enriched my cognition. The lifestyle in New York City is exciting, vibrant, and ever-changing. The modern city where most young people wish to have a New York dream, whatever they seek offers from companies or universities.

Today, I am studying at NYU to pursue further study for the Master of Science in Integrated Marketing. The main reason that I choose to study in the marketing field is marketing is a magic tool for any business line. It uses marketing to sell products, but it helps businesses explore the thoughts and needs of target groups, connect with customers, and use the right platform to display. Marketing is a mentor that can teach me professional skills and brings me many new things outside of my existing knowledge.

Feels to blog, and what do I expect?

I enjoy every story that my professors or my friends share with me. When I am sitting at the desk and writing my first blog on Medium, I also feel enjoyable introducing myself and sharing personal thoughts to publish. I want to say, “I’m using a blog to market myself.”

In the next several weeks, I expect to understand how digital marketing works in an actual situation. During the lesson, I also want to achieve this by collecting valuable data based on existing marketing information, learning analysis, and sharing my thoughts on my blog. Last but not least, I hope my blogs can attract the audience’s attention and provide creative stories for them.

--

--