“The Blue Chip” Man

Meng Zhang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 21, 2021

What does the word “fascinate” mean to people? I believe the word “fascinate” means attraction, so someone fascinates you means someone attracts you. Do you know why you are fascinated or attracted? I think the answer can be distinguished by different groups of people base on their age, experience and background.

What about myself? Why do I fascinate someone? I have never thought about this question deeply because I think of myself as a normal person, there is no difference between me and others. However, after I finished the fascinate test, I realize that I am a little bit different from others, Haha, it surprises me.

This is my archetype. I think it describes me very precisely and accurately. I am a person who prefers “old ways” which means I do not like innovation. You can also say I am a lazy man. I do not need to think too much when I have an old problem or go to a place that I used to go to or order food in a restaurant that I always go to. Even though I know maybe it is not the best way to do it or it wastes my time, I still do it because it will lead me to the result that I want anyway. For the last description “Best-in-class”, of course, I want to be the best, but still try to do “old ways” to be the best.

So based on my archetype, prestige and trust make sense to me because prestige stands for high standards and trust stands for stability and reliability. “Best-in-class” describes prestige because I want everything to be the best and classic and established describe trust because a person who always keeps “old ways” would never betray or cheat on people. It is too tired for me to think of a brand new idea to trick people so why wouldn’t I just keep what I am and doing what I should do? I do not want to let myself live very tired.

This blog looks like I am helping people to know the dark side of me but no. The test is helping people to understand yourself in deep and the understanding keeps both positive and negative side of a person. When you truly know the negative side of yourself then you can overcome it and try to stay with the positives. Even though I said I am a normal person, I am still unique in the world, no one has the exact same character as mine. In order to create a personal brand, you have to stay real, follow the positives and never give up!

--

--