The Discovery of Yitong

Yitong Chen
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 20, 2021

In developed countries, almost all enterprises use personality tests as the basis of manager selection, employment, and placement. To a certain extent, personality characteristics determine what kind of work an individual is suitable for and what kind of performance he may achieve. Therefore, the possibility of management success can be partially determined by diagnosing a person’s personality characteristics or types. Personality can affect career choice, job satisfaction, stress, leadership behavior, and job performance. I have taken the MBTI test before my last job; however, I feel confused about myself at that time. I think the character is very difficult to be tested. I don’t believe that a person’s character can be analyzed through some yes or no questions. Similarly, I completed the fascination advantage test with a questioning attitude, but the result surprised me.

There are only 28 questions in this test compared to the 128 questions MBTI tests, the fascination advantage test can make me feel calmer and not irritable. It will directly lead the result more accurate. I believe that the attitude of doing the test determines the result of the test.

Yitong’s Archetype

Yitong’s Archetype

My archetype is Artisan. How to define Artisan? From the dictionary, Artisan can define as a person skilled in a utilitarian art, trade, or craft, especially one requiring manual skill. How about in a person’s career? What specialty does an artisan have? From the fascination advantage test, I found the answer. An Artisan has the top 5 specialty adjectives, which are deliberate, thoughtful, flexible, resourceful, and composer-like. As the test showed. The fascination advantage is how your personality is most likely to add distinct value. According to the test, my primary and secondary advantages are innovation and trust. I think this result perfectly describes me, I think innovation is the most thing in entrepreneurship. Innovation is a key factor that can bring the passion for work. I always want to seek new opportunities for my work. I enjoy generating ideas that can surprise and inspire others. Once I into natural innovation, I can better persuade and captivate your co-workers, your boss, and your customers.

My secondary advantage is trust. If innovation the language of creativity, trust is the language of stability. I am looking for innovation in my work, however, I want to bring stability and calm to the situation. In a confusing and stressful world, I hope I can influence others because of my dependability. No one is born with the trust of others, if the trust is one of my advantages, I should apply it in my work. I should learn how to activate my natural ability to create trust. Walt Disney is an example leader who uses trust. I think make people feel familiar with you is also a field of trust. By understanding and applying my main advantages, I can better shape decisions and inspire people at work.

We should enlarge our advantages by this test and try our best to avoid negative characters in the future career. Instead of focusing on my advantages, it is better to describe how I am different from others. I think this is the best to create my brand. Unique is the principle of the brand. The establishment of the personal brand needs a complete process, in which accurate positioning is the foundation, we need to fully understand ourselves. The fascination advantage test can let us know about ourselves in the shortest time.

--

--