The “Ethical” Dilemma

Michelle Strauss
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readOct 24, 2020
Image from Vodafone.co.uk

Oh boy, where to start?

Here’s my initial questions: When has the spread of falsehood and deceit become OK? Why is carrier neutrality OK in one of the most tumultuous times in our history? When did we let the internet dictate our thoughts and behavior? And most importantly…what happened to ethics?

Mark Zuckerberg’s interview with Kara Swisher was incredibly frustrating on multiple levels. I understand the power that comes from being a man like Zuckerberg and having to satisfy a wide pool of stakeholders/investors as a means to maximize profits. But should monetary costs outweigh the social costs? Is it worth having a platform that polarizes humanity rather than unifies?

From one Jew to another, shame on him for tolerating anti-semitic content and the spread of misinformation, and deeming this as “freedom of speech.”

We need regulation now more than ever. Which leads me to my next reaction on Scott Galloway’s interview with Sinan Aral, author of The Hype Machine: How Social Media Disrupts Our Elections, Our Economy, And Our Health — And How We Must Adapt.

It sounds like a great read, but hearing them go back and forth about the book’s content had me shaking my head on the M train home, and yet, feeling grateful for the internet. The hard hitting question I took away from their conversation is, “How have we let ourselves become so easily assimilated?”

Aral talks about the idea of “arm-chair theorizing’ and how internet users opine on the daily, without any formal education, but rather knowledge based on a direct, lived experience. There’s content that has the potential to benefit the greater good by spreading awareness, and then there’s completely erroneous content that can be deemed “fake news.”

There is nothing more rage inducing than being sold on falsehood.

However, I, too, am a victim of shapeshifting due to the internet. I have allowed the social media cesspool to influence my thinking and have passed the point of no return. This ranges from politics, social justice, and climate change, in which my stance on hot button issues stem from hours of Instagram scrolling.

No wonder why most of Generation Y is in therapy.

I am lucky to have been the last generation to know what life was like before the digital age. I do concur with Aral that the positives of social media very much equal the negatives, and I would not be as outspoken on social movements and politics had it not been for the Instagram/Twitter/Facebook accounts I have carefully chosen to follow.

I hate to admit this, but I am immeasurably smarter because of the internet. I am more “woke,” vocal, and aware than I have ever been. I have access to the world at the palm of my hand and can’t imagine consuming media any other way.

Is social media destroying our democracy? Yes. Is there anything I can personally do about this? No. So as much as I detest Zuckerberg and his tolerance towards negative/false/racist freedom of speech, the spreading of misinformation, and my personal addiction to social media, I have to accept the reality that there is no turning back.

Ooof!

--

--

Michelle Strauss
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Aquarius | World Traveler | New York Native |First time blogger