The First Step of Self Marketing: Rediscover Yourself Through Others’ Eyes

RUI LIANG
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 13, 2022

The importance of self marketing
Everyone is a brand, and how to let others quickly and deeply understand ourselves? The answer is, we need to show our unique and charming sides through self-marketing.

There are many benefits of self-marketing. First of all, for individuals, self-marketing is conducive to establishing a good personal image and increasing personal charm and attractiveness. Not only that, self-marketing also helps to form a good interpersonal relationship, which is conducive to the development of interpersonal communication, and on this basis, a sales customer network can be formed. This is critical for marketers.

Seeing ourselves as a brand seems like a rather alienating idea to most people. However, precisely because it is alienating, it helps us to see objectively, to capture and express our differences, our added value. In self-marketing, we must leverage our base (family, education) and our environment (professional experience, social stimulation, extracurricular interests). But most of all, we can filter out our own golden seeds from self-marketing, refine and sow them, nurture and nourish them, and make them grow. This process of learning, change, and personal innovation is continuous and never-ending.

The first step in self-marketing is to fully and deeply understand ourselves. This process requires not only self-analysis, but also an understanding of what we are like in the eyes of others. Thus, I took an interesting test created by Sally Hogshead: How to Fascinate Test. This test uses participants’ answers to 28 questions to analyze how they are perceived by others. So what do I look like in the eyes of others? Let’s take a look!

Who am I, from others’ eyes
According to the test results, my archetype is COORDINATOR, and my primary advantage and secondary advantage are ALERT and PASSION respectively.

This means, in the eyes of others, I am detail-oriented, work in an ordered manner, and focus on deadlines and always loyal to the team. And I often bring a pragmatic, step-by-step approach to every project. When a task is at risk of delay, I’m quick to point out the negative consequences.

For me, I think this test result is relatively close to my personality. Because I think I am organized and practical, especially in teamwork. I like to grasp every link and keep things organized. And I will pay more attention to the thoughts of everyone in the team, because I hope that every member can feel that their opinions are valued and respected. Because as the oldest child in a large family, I was always taught to respect the ideas of my siblings or cousins and focused on cooperation rather than self-centeredness. So over time, I gradually developed this more team-oriented character.

Although someone like me can inspire small teams, and captivate my team members with my enthusiasm and drive. I can keep projects on track with a strong focus on deadlines, and will be equally at ease with quantitative as well as qualitative information.

But my character has some disadvantages. That is, I thrive in a structured environment and love working in small teams. Also, I am not usually the one to spontaneously hit upon a new plan, and tend to be somewhat risk-averse. So I would not challenge the status quo if it’s not necessary.

Therefore, in order to make myself more attractive, I hope to play more of the “PASSION” part of my personality. I will express my thoughts more actively and think more divergently to make my mind more active. I want people to see me as not only organized, but also fun and creative.

--

--

RUI LIANG
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU Integrated Marketing student|learner, thinker, activist,