The Friends Reunion

Cynthia Xu
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readMay 30, 2021

One of the biggest news from last week is the Friends Reunion was finally released! When the theme song, the scenes, and all the characters came out, everything just flies back to the period you started watching Friends. It is so comfortable and familiar, and you never feel bored but can always have something new that attracts you.

Well, this is not a Friends Reunions’ press release. This is actually Cynthia Xu’s blog. Don’t feel disappointed or slip away! Crab a cup of coffee or tea, just take a break from your current work, and keep reading my words. They will give you the feeling that Friends can provide you: comfortable, but always with something new and exciting.

An official welcome to my blog! I am Cynthia Xu, the writer of the article. I was born in Beijing and currently doing an internship in Shanghai. I kept studying marketing as an undergraduate because I feel marketing is so charming and full of excitement. I did several internships in the past 4 years and have worked for different kinds of brands and products, such as Vitamins, sunglasses, sanity napkins, etc. The process of conveying value to the right people and impacting their buying behaviors or even lifestyles is like leaving seals in the world. It visualizes the power I had in the whole society. It is very fascinating.

A recent photo of me

Why writing blogs? Aren’t they out of trend?
You may have many questions on why using the blog as a channel to communicate with the public. This is not really a dreamland for long articles. “I don’t have much time to spend on reading the words.” some of my friends told me one of the reasons, “I will probably skip it because I don’t have the patience to finish reading it.”

As a marketer, I do know we should always satisfy our target customers’ needs. However, we also have the responsibility to find their potential needs and remind them of them. Although many of them prefer short sentences with conclusions, blogs still have their non-substitutability. Concise sentences cannot provide detailed information for audiences. Blogs may lead audiences to follow the logic and show the core value step by step to readers, eliminating many confusions on expression. Posting blogs also gives me more chances to focus on some exciting information instead of just going through it. Thinking of more detail is never bad for marketers. Meanwhile, the blog is still the leading platform where people get information and having discussions. The discussions are always valuable, which give me more perspectives on thinking.

What am I going to post on the blog?
News, market trends, new products… I will use this blog as a platform to think deeper on those topics that stimulate public discussion and those finds that may have significant impacts on the whole marketplace. I hope the thoughts can help us build up the habit of reflecting and thinking and making us agile and logical.

My first blog now comes to an end. I hope the words don’t bother you a lot. It will be better if you have found something interesting or enlightened you. I also hope that the 4–5mins each week of reading in the following months can give you a sense of friends reunion, which is comfortable but always with something new.

--

--