The Makings of a Victor

Jana Padilla
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readMar 4, 2023

I was given the opportunity by one of my professors, Joanne Tombrakos, to take the How to Fascinate Personality Test which was discovered by Sally Hogshead. Unlike most personality tests that tell you how you see the world, this one reveals how the world sees you. The purpose of this is to find out what the primary advantage of your personality is that allows you to add value to your team. With just 28 questions, this personality test tells you what makes you fascinating and teaches you how to use it to your advantage.

The experience for me was both exciting and reassuring. It was exciting because it was my first time using this tool and I was very intrigued to find out how the people around me, especially those who have worked with me, see me. Once I saw my results, it was reassuring because it was exactly how I aspired to be seen, while at the same time, got some tips on how to further better myself using the advantages that I already possess.

Allow me to share with you my results and the points that stood out to me the most. The test will tell you your two greatest Advantages (Primary and Secondary) and puts these together to reveal your overall Archetype.

My Primary Advantage: Prestige

How to Fascinate summarizes the Prestige personality with these three points:

  1. Ambitious
  2. Results-Oriented
  3. Respected

I definitely understand why Prestige is my Primary Advantage. I’ve always been ambitious as I believe in the power of dreaming big. As Norman Vincent Peale once said: “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.” I’m also very much results-oriented as having a clear vision of what I want to achieve is a main driving force for me in everything that I do. As someone who also likes to take the lead, I value being respected by the people around me.

They mentioned that one of the ways that I add value to the team is how I refuse to be average, and this is definitely what caught my attention the most. This resonated with me as I have a fear of being mediocre. I’ve always had a growth mindset that pushes me to become a better version of myself every day. Furthermore, in any kind of work that I do, I will always try my best to achieve maximum results, never wanting to settle for less.

My Secondary Advantage: Power

The Power personality is summarized by the following:

  1. Confident
  2. Goal-Oriented
  3. Decisive

My Secondary Advantage is a bit unexpected but there’s no denying that it makes sense and it made me understand myself in a new way. It comes as a surprise for a lot of people when I tell them that I’m actually introverted and I get really shy in a lot of social situations. However, as an introvert with an extrovert’s line of work, I’ve learned how to put a different cap on for the sake of (yes, you guessed it) achieving the best results possible. As they say: fake it ‘till you make it!

Similar to Prestige, I’m goal-oriented and I will strive hard to reach the goal that I am eyeing. Lastly, I’m generally quite indecisive but this test made me realize that when it comes to making decisions for work, it comes much more naturally to me as compared to deciding what I want to eat for dinner.

What caught my attention here the most is that according to the test, I add value to the team by staying focused on the goal. It is so easy for things to go wrong quickly when you lose sight of what you want to achieve. Having a goal in mind allows you to be laser-focused on what needs to be done, while at the same time being able to weed out anything unnecessary.

My Archetype: The Victor

Putting Prestige and Power together, my overall Archetype is “The Victor,” which is summarized by these Top 5 Specialty Adjectives:

  1. Respected
  2. Competitive
  3. Results-Oriented
  4. Concentrated
  5. Exemplary
Sally Hogshead, the founder of How to Fascinate, discusses “The Victor” Archetype

What really surprised me here is that when Sally Hogshead was defining The Victor, her words were: “you pursue excellence across the board.” This was mindblowing to me as I mentioned in two of my previous blogs, “Pursuing Excellence: My Journey from Dancer to Aspiring Marketer” and “Just Do It” in an Era of “Don’t’s”, about how I am in pursuit of excellence. It was very reassuring for me to know that my mindset is also how the people around me see me, thus confirming for myself that I do embody what I had hoped to.

Final Thoughts

It was a privilege to have been given the opportunity to take the How to Fascinate Personality Test. This definitely gave me a clearer understanding of both my strengths and weaknesses as an individual and as a team member. I appreciate the holistic approach of the tool wherein it tells you how you add value to your team and how to become a better teammate. The tool has allowed me to become more self-aware, giving me the chance to grow even further.

Take the test for yourself and see how you fascinate!

Thank you for reading this week’s blog, and I’ll see you at the next one!

--

--

Jana Padilla
Marketing in the Age of Digital

"In pursuit of excellence" | NYC | Grad student at NYU | Finding my place in the world of Marketing