The MetaVerse in terms of a layman

Vanshika Chaturvedi
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readApr 3, 2022

It’s safe to say we’re all experts on “The Multiverse”. No? Well, at least we still have Doctor Strange to give us deeper knowledge about it on May 6th. For non-Marvel fans, watch Everything, Everywhere, All At Once in your nearest cinema and you will know what I am talking about. But for today, let’s deal with what “The MetaVerse” is?

At this stage, I believe we are all laymen as to what Metaverse really is, with the exception of a couple of experts with the likes of Mark Zuckerberg, Satya Nadella, and a couple of other really smart (and rich) people.

It is absolutely fine if you are feeling confused, anxious, or simply clueless about the MetaVerse because honestly, the people who say they know all about it are lying. No one really knows what it can do.

Mark Zuckerberg says (in the most robotic voice ever) and I quote, “Hey and welcome to connect. Today we’re gonna talk about the MetaVerse starting with the most important experience of all - connecting with people.” You can watch the full video here.

My point, people are real, the world is real, and spaces are REAL! No one needs to manufacture artificial people or spaces to CONNECT with others. No matter how introverted you are, you don’t want to live in a world that is not real. Introverts agree.

However, the Metaverse closely resembles the plot of the show Upload, available on Prime Video starring Robbie Amell and I wonder if technology can actually take us so far that we upload ourselves into the Metaverse even after we die. Whoo! The chills and the possibilities!

Personally, MetaVerse is scary and I shall not be the one using it even if I am the last person on earth. But I can’t say that for myself as a Marketer, can I? Here’s a gist of Metaverse, the basics.

Thanks for reading and if you shall not be team MetaVerse, leave a comment and welcome to the club!

--

--

Vanshika Chaturvedi
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A cinephile and storyteller just here to pour my heart about marketing and entertainment.