The never noticed Royal Guard

Xinnan Yan
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readJun 15, 2022

I’ve rarely done any personality test because I think everyone is different in their own ways. With a few questions and then having a few brackets to categorize millions or even billions of people is a bit of a stretch. But when I came across the Fascinate test, I still jumped in with my curiosity.

The Royal Guard

The result shows that I’m the Royal Guard archetype, This means that my primary advantage is Mystique, and my secondary advantage is prestige, the later report shows that this archetype is conscientious and dedicated, with a focus on essentials and at the same time being perceptive. This archetype Intrigues others with understatement and communicates selectively and purposefully, with a minimalist approach which means they are result-driven. The royal guard archetype can remain calm in situations of pressure.

Do I think this is accurate?

In some ways, I’ve always found these test answers is being a bit vague and can be applied to others too, like in the “how the world sees you” section, it says I rarely share my innermost thoughts and I’m intensely competitive that I want to achieve the best quality and highest level. but isn’t it all of us rarely share our innermost thoughts and want to be the best we can be and perform at the top of our games? Sure I might be a bit too skeptical and nitpicking here and there but I feel this result fits me one way or another so I’d rather look at it as a good benchmark than a definitive answer.

What can I get out of it?

To be honest, I’m more interested in the part that I’m lacking than what I’m good at, as they say, a chain is only as strong as its weakest link, so known my shortcomings can help me avoid many problems and trouble down the road. A personality who has a ‘can do’ attitude and usually doesn’t look at how something can fail but, rather, tend to focus on how it can succeed. I need to be more alert and have a sense of practicality and caution. I’d say I’ll definitely agree with that.

--

--

Xinnan Yan
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A mechanical engineer that has more interest in racing/marketing/designing than actual engineering