The Rise and (Inevitable) Fall of a Marketing Grad Student

Luisa Rodríguez
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJul 9, 2024

Preface

Hello! I will bore you with details and introduce myself and explain what are we doing here. My name is Luisa Rodríguez, I’m a marketing student at NYU SPS.

As someone who has always been interested in the power of communication and how it affects people (for better or for worse), I hope this blog can provide helpful contributions.

Aerial view of the New York skyline

Chapter I: Origins

Born and raised in Monterrey, México to a family of six made life very not boring. I feel obligated to explain that I’m from the 🏙️🐮⛰️🥵 part of México not the 🐚🌞🏖️🌊 part, which makes me infinitely more attracted to travel to cities rather than beaches.

🏙️🐮⛰️🥵: Monterrey, N.L., México

Aside from travel, I am very grateful to discovered my love from reading when I was thirteen years old. Lattes, brownies, window shopping and futbol (soccer) make up a large part of me and the things that I love. When I’m too stressed or overwhelmed you can find me in my apartment listening to a true crime podcast while coloring books.

Despite majoring in Advertising during uni, I never worked in any marketing related field (job hunting during the pandemic is a whole other story). I have experience in work processes, logistics and internal control and when it came down to map out my career at the company I was working for I realized I did not love it.

Several and emotionally taxing pages later I realized I did want to work in marketing, but I needed more experience and knowledge to make a career switch. Enter NYU.

Chapter II: Oh, that’s nice but why are you here?

Long story short, my professor made me.

But I will bore you with the details, again.

Being a marketer means constantly and consistently creating content and this blog will serve as practice before I graduate and embark on the professional marketing field.

Nowadays, content, especially marketing content, is overflowing. We see it everywhere, every time, even when we think we don’t, it’s there.

The real challenge as a marketer now is how can we relate in a world where everyone is void of connection, but desperate for it. As I write this blog, I can hopefully find how to truly bond with the desired target audiences.

Other things you can expect from this blog are learning latest trends, discussing ideas and help enrich the conversation around communication.

Epilogue

I believe that the best way to learn is to share your ideas and thoughts with people who may have different views than you. It forces you to learn one of the many qualities that in my opinion marketers must have: empathy.

Thank you for joining me in this journey!

Claude Monet’s Water Lilies @MOMA

--

--