The Star Chaser

Elle Duan
Marketing in the Age of Digital
5 min readSep 18, 2022

You might wonder, what does my topic mean? Am I an astronomer who love to learn everything about the universe. Or, I am a photographer, who love to climb mountains at night to capture the beautiful milky-way. Unfortunately, both of those are not what I am. Bottomline is, it’s not the star in the sky. So what is it?

First of all, my name is Chunnan Duan, and you can call me Elle. Born in China and currently studying abroad in my 10th year. Undergrad from UCLA, moved to New York City earlier this year. Marketing has always been one of the most interesting area for me, and I am hunger to learn more about Digital Marketing. I am also a proud Michelin Star Chaser! I love to describe myself a star chaser, not only it sounds cool but it’s one of my obsession.

What is a Michelin Star?

A Michelin Star is awarded for outstanding cooking. It takes into account the quality of the ingredients, the harmony of flavors, the mastery of techniques, the personality of the chef as expressed in their cuisine and, just as importantly, consistency both over time and across the entire menu. It is also a great example of digital marketing in my opinion. I really enjoy visiting Michelin Star restaurants, not only in the United States, but also travel around the world. To discover the beauty of culinary experience, I also enjoy talk to the Chefs about their thoughts and motivations behind every single dishes. Below is one of most intriguing story that i want to tell everyone.

The Touching Story Behind Parmigiano Reggiano Day In Modena, Italy.

Facebook/Osteria Francescana

Massimo Bottura, a renowned Michelin 3 star chef of the Worlds’ Best Restaurant Osteria Francescana. He did something remarkable to save his town after tons of Parmigiano Reggiano cheese was damaged from the earthquake. Years of cheese production were lost during that moment, about $50 million worth, reported the New York Times, potentially threatening the livelihood of cheesemakers whose families produced this product for generations. Bottura’s response to the situation was a single recipe: Riso cacio e pepe. He invited the world through social media and online outlets to cook this new dish along with him launching “Parmigiano Reggiano Day” eight years ago, October 27th. With 40,000 people worldwide participating in the virtual inaugural event, all 360,000 wheels of cheese sold out, and all jobs were saved. “That was a recipe as a social gesture,” he says. This annual celebration continues throughout Italy, which has grown among their restaurant community with more than 400 eateries dedicating their menus to this special night.

Sustainability…

Story like this really make me respect the culinary industry. In now days, Chef can make a huge impact on the society, not only provide delicious food to people, but also make a huge impact on the environment as well. At the forefront of the industry when it comes to their sustainable practices. They hold themselves accountable for both their ethical and environmental standards, and work with sustainable producers and suppliers to avoid waste and reduce or even remove plastic and other non-recyclable materials from their supply chain.

Me and Michelin 3 Star Chef Pierre Gagnaire from Paris, France

Travel around the world

I really enjoy travel, to see the worlds and get to know the culture of each cities that I visited. How local eats, thinks about certain news topics and comments about other cities. By connecting with people around the global, sometimes you can see things differently, think differently. It really power and motivate me to keep visiting different countries every year. I love mother naturals, make friends on my trips. Travel alone also helps you to build confident and being independent, which I think as a woman it’s extremely important. Being away from my Parents for so many years, I really learnt to how to live alone. Post covid, I am so glad to see countries open up and everyone back to their normal daily life. Being in the central of the world, NYC, it’s always best to grab your bag and take some rest. Recharge yourself, seeing the worlds and come back focus.

A night in Paris, France/Post Covid

Study, Work, Life, Fitness

I am a gym nerd, because I ate a lot, lol… I’ve always tell my friends that the only reason I go to gym is so I can eat more. But this is probably just one of the reason. I really think in a healthy lifestyle, fitness is one of the most important part. Self-awareness is very important in my mind. Fitness can also release your tension and have you more focus on your work/study. Health is another part of the equation, eat healthy and take good exercise daily. It’s hard to maintain on a daily basis and trust me there are days that I am either too sleepy or too tired for gym. You have to fully commit to your goal and at the end of the day your hard work will pay off. Excise will also improve your mood. You may also feel better about your appearance and yourself when you exercise regularly, which can boost your confidence and improve your self-esteem. It will also let you sleep better at night. Regular physical activity can help you fall asleep faster, get better sleep and deepen your sleep. Just don’t exercise too close to bedtime, or you may be too energized to go to sleep. Therefore, being fit is top of my priority. Oh wait, maybe second behind food.

I was working out in my apartment, New York

Now, you know me

Again, this is me, a star chasing girl who has big dreams. Always positive and seeking the impossible. Who love to excise and travel around the world to try new things. Hunger for new opportunities. Now you know me better. Let’s learn Digital Marketing together. Not only what I learn from the classroom but I will continue to post interesting contents that i found around my daily life and share fun story that I discover.

Thank you for taking your time and reading my introduction blog. Let’s be friends and I am looking forward to know each one of you.

Elle

--

--

Elle Duan
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU | Integrated Marketing. Travel Enthusiast, Food Lover and Fitness Freak. I will be posting interesting content related to my hobbies.