The Timberland Digital Journey: From Iconic Yellow Boots to Personalized Emails

Yingying Zhou
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readOct 29, 2023

When we try to shop online, we all come across the part of registering an account. Timberland is no exception, the “Yellow Boot” is the company’s best-known model, now considered iconic, just as I decided to go and buy yellow boots I also encountered the Signing up for a new account session.

Registering a new account was easy, Timberland’s registration process is simplified and intuitive, the interface guided me to the required fields, and the whole process took me less than 3 minutes, as it has no complicated steps, just a simple username, email and a new password setup to complete the registration of a new user. After I completed the registration, I came to the next welcome page. The content of this page shows the benefits of having an account and the current offers I have. During this step, I felt a sense of inclusion and it immediately made me feel like I was already a part of the Timberland community.

Shortly after signing up for membership, I received a welcome email with a design I liked. The stark color palette is in keeping with the brand’s aesthetic. First of all, the email began by addressing me by my first name, which gave me an experience of personal contact, and this personalization made me feel even more at home. Secondly, the content of the email is clear: it says: “Welcome to the Timberland Community!”, and by the way, there’s a logo on the page that says it’s the 50th anniversary of the year, thirdly, there’s a compelling image in the middle of the email, with the main visual focus being a man working outdoors in a snowy environment. He is wearing a Timberland suit and sturdy black boots, and behind him is a rocky hillside covered in snow. The setting suggests a cold and challenging workspace.

Timberland mail page

Since signing up for a new account, I’ve noticed that Timberland maintains a balanced frequency when it comes to emails. Unlike new subscribers to other brands I don’t get bombarded with emails daily and on average receive Timberland-related emails for two weeks. It follows seasonal changes, current trends, or current promotions, and this real-time email allows consumers to be the first to know about Timberland’s latest news. When consumers don’t want to see the emails anymore, they will find an unsubscribe button at the bottom of the email, which ensures that they can control the emails at any time and on their terms. The email can be viewed regardless of which gadget is being used, with uniform typography and clear content.

I like Timberland’s email and I think it does a great job. It emphasizes the importance of the post-registration experience, and these little details can make or break a user’s perception of a brand. Intertwining relevant content with a balanced frequency of emails keeps me interested in the brand and highlights the fact that Timberland respects the user’s inbox and maintains a brand image that makes it a brand to emulate in the digital communications space.

--

--