They Had Me at Birthday Cake!

Andres F Rincon
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readOct 6, 2019

I’ve been on the search for the “best” protein bar in the market for a while now. This is no easy task given that the space is saturated with new brands popping up left and right every day.

Is it gluten free? Is it paleo? Is it sugar free? Is it plant based? The options can be too much and overwhelming, so much so that sometimes I’ve found myself at a grocery store aisle just giving in and grabbing a Snickers bar instead.

The ONE bars have been on my shortlist of favorites since the early days of my search for the “one.” My criteria is simple: high in protein, low in sugar and naturally tasting flavor. Pretty easy, right? One would think.

I must admit, for the most part, I shop for protein bars at the store. It’s not really something that I go online or on my phone to purchase. There are two main reasons that justify my purchasing behavior. The first one being that I was on my quest to find my absolute favorite brand, and therefore; I wasn’t ready to commit to one yet. The second, because I usually crave a protein bar immediately after a workout, it’s just easier to handle my cravings in real time.

The other day as I was scrolling through my Instagram feed, a beautiful and colorful picture of a ONE bar popped up and it had a 20% discount message for call to action. I couldn’t help but click on it. Long story short, I ended up ordering four boxes directly on my mobile.

ONE made it so easy for me that I had no reason to leave without buying something. ONE’s website is simple and practical. Their brand messaging carries across the site effortless; mostly through pictures, and a very brief message…

At ONE we believe that great taste and good health are not mutually exclusive. Because let’s be real — life’s too short for anything boring, tasteless, or worse, chalky.

ONE successfully manages to carry a seamless user experience across all their digital platforms and social media extensions. And my favorite part was that I never felt like ONE was pushing me to buy anything or to buy more. They didn’t have to. ONE’s visuals are so on point that I kept adding new flavors to my cart just because I wanted to try them out.

And let’s be real, the fact that they’ve mastered a Birthday Cake flavor that actually tastes like cake… genius!

That’s when I knew that I’d found the ONE.

--

--