True or false? Angry or warm messages on YOUR social media?

Rachel Dong
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readOct 31, 2021

As a content creator of digital media, I am often deceived by online articles, but I have not been able to solve it. At the end of the article, I really want to solve it in my own way.

From time to time, I get up at nine o’clock as usual, and I know I need to go out at 10 o’clock and go to school. I always play an exploration game with my phone in bed. I read all kinds of news, even celebrity gossip and scandals on the Internet with a not sober mind. However, I “play” with my mobile phone and social media, such as Instagram, twitter and apple news. What I don’t know is that these digital media platforms may also be playing with me. My anger has been shown in various reports, although I am often deceived by these social media.

True facts and false facts

Hot news and popular articles on the Internet are often inseparable from three important topics, erotica, power, and the gap between rich and poor. Moreover, when one thing happens, if three people witness the process, everyone can write three very different articles. However, perhaps only one of the three articles became a popular article because his article distorted some facts. He wrote “articles that people love to read” rather than objective reports.

It may be a little abstract when I describe it like this, but when I believe you must have had the same experience. Let me give an example in real life. For example, when you heard about Neymar’s sex scandal, would you believe him? I think it depends on who you are. If you are a fan of him, I believe it is difficult for you to identify with it. If you are not a fan of him and hate him very much, you may believe it, and you may also repost this article and post in the comment area “I always think he is not a successful athlete, he is an xxxx(bad words)”. Your comment may have received 14k likes. However, your comments and tweets also affected some people.

You see, does it matter whether something is true or not? Is the moment you reposted because of your negative emotions or goodwill?

As for Neymar’s enthusiastic fans, they may search for the girl’s information and “slut humiliate” her, and then get a lot of people to watch, and become a hot article. These extremely negative articles are real things that happened on Facebook and Twitter. Thousands of Internet users participated in a carnival. Their fingers on the keyboard ruined the reputation and future of the two people, and their purpose may be simply to vent their emotions. Is it really what they describe? ……..Actually, it doesn’t matter anymore.

My calmness, reason and reflection

It’s hard for me not to be as misled as they are. I know I am not rational enough.

I started thinking about another question, whether social media platforms should block or even stop some extremely distorted information. According to the TALKSONLAW video, they told me that social media is not obligated to protect anyone’s rights and they have nothing to do with the Free Speech Act. I sigh this incident because I cannot judge these social media for not fulfilling their legal obligations. They did not break the law. What they worry about is their own rights. The more page views can bring them more benefits. Therefore, they will naturally not prevent any hot events from fermenting. What can we do? Except for section-230, can we only restrict these?

In my opinion, I have an immature solution that I hope these platforms will adopt. — — “LOVE”.

I hope we can be educated. Yes, including me.

If I can receive a push when registering, telling me that rationality and civilization are good, and gentleness and positive are the essence of our lives. I believe no one will refuse such encouragement. In the era of big data, the more you are addicted to the darkness, the easier it is that you cannot escape the darkness. But why can’t the platform stand in the perspective of God and call for “love”. Negative power may spread quickly, but positive power will still spread. I hope I can receive “warm reminders” from the platform from time to time instead of constantly inducing me to “repost negative hot spots”

The ethos of the Internet can be corrected a little bit, and we don’t have to use the most extreme way to vent our emotions. I hope that various well-known social media platforms can provide some gentle education and guidance to users. I also hope to receive some lovely and warm user guides occasionally. For example, did you say a good morning to your loved ones today? Or, remember to deliver happiness. I hope that these educations are not necessarily a lecture to users, but a little bit of transmission on web design. I am a person who is easily moved, so I think these “educations” are very useful to me.

Thank you for reading. If you also want to call for a warm online social environment with me, please click high-five and subscribe to me(Rachel Dong). Thank you for your support.

--

--

Rachel Dong
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A Chinese girl studies in NYC, love marketing and love creative thinking.