Typically, Not So Typical.

Vedika Agarwal
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readJan 30, 2022

“All the worlds a stage, and all men and women are merely players.”
— As You Like It by William Shakespeare

Growing up I often wondered what my story was going to be or what role I was going to play. If I was a trendsetting fashionista and writer like Carrie Bradshaw. Or the modest but awkward Andrea Sachs getting out of her comfort zone. Or sometimes even a carefree Phoebe Buffay. I guess it would be safe to say I am a combination of all of them with a little magic of my own, maneuvering my way through life and New York (quite literally, the subways can be VERY confusing but so can life).

Hello Medium!

I’m Vedika Agarwal, born and raised in Mumbai, India. I escape the world from time to time by indulging in some reading, painting, dancing, and binge-watching shows (with a tub of popcorn, of course). Sharing a little about my academic background, I majored in Accounting and Finance as an undergraduate, I believe it’s the basis of every business. But three years of Finance and a million numbers later I realize I wanted to do something more. Something more creative, something more me. My interest in fashion drove me to try out fashion styling and for marketing to take up an internship where I fell in LOVE — with marketing. I decided then that was it for me.

To me, marketing is not just a process of selling products or services. It is understanding the emotions that led to creating a particular product and communicating that feeling to consumers. To know the heart and soul of a brand while integrating efforts to convey its story to ordinary people, providing them with a solution. I hope to learn, unlearn, and relearn more about marketing (and life) in New York as I pursue an M.S. in Integrated Marketing degree at NYU.

Today, I’m writing this blog as an assignment for a class but it’s something I’ve always wanted to try out. Seeking this opportunity and taking the first step has been a rollercoaster of emotions but I love the thrill. With all of my 24942 edits and redos here I am publishing my #FirstEver blog.

So stay tuned if you’d like to hear more from me as I figure out my role as a newbie blogger, a marketer with dreams, and also just an ordinary girl new to New York!

Love,
Vedika.

--

--

Vedika Agarwal
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Grad student at NYU’s M.S. in Integrated Marketing program. Passionate about branding and digital marketing. Always looking for the magic!