Unpacking BOXT’s Email Marketing Tactics🍷 Cracking the Code to Success

Cindy Wang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
5 min readMar 26, 2023

In China, more campaigns are delivered through social media such as WeChat, Weibo and TikTok. Chinese email service providers filter emails from unknown senders, which means more marketing emails may face the end of being filtered into spam folders.

In the US, however, I am often amazed by the content and frequency of email marketing! The potential of email marketing in the US is magnified and put in front of me.

Let’s take a look at competitor BOXT’s official website!

1. Ubiquitous Sign-up Buttons

I went to BOXT’s official website interface. At first glance, there are three call-to-action portals that allow me to enter my personal information and be more deeply tied to the BOXT brand.

Screenshot from BOXT official website

As I continued to browse the web, I was pleasantly surprised to find this “enter your email to get a discount on your first order” design. It’s actually at the bottom of all the BOXT website screens!

2. Super Easy to Subscribe

The only thing I need to provide when I subscribe to the brand’s email marketing is to enter my email address. I don’t need to enter more personal information such as contact information, name, address, etc. BOXT maximizes the opportunities to achieve email marketing!

I Received Emails from BOXT Right Away

BOXT sent me the relevant email marketing email within 3 minutes after I entered my email address. My customer information as a potential consumer was quickly captured by the brand!

Screenshot from the email marketing I received

1. Narrow the Target Audience

The first email of the day congratulated me on my registration and told me straight away that I would enjoy a faster checkout process.

The second email of the day had a heartwarming and surprising message: it asked me to personally confirm whether I wanted to continue receiving email marketing emails. This time, I was very decisive and chose to “subscribe”.

Screenshot from the email marketing I received

At the bottom of each email I get the option to unsubscribe from BOXT email.

Screenshot from the email marketing I received

Using email marketing in this way to ask customers directly about their needs allows the email database to be composed entirely of potential subscribers. Forming an exclusive audience for brand marketing and product decisions will make BOXT’s future email marketing even more efficient!

2. Eye-catching Email Design

BOXT has created visually appealing and mobile-friendly email designs that incorporate their branding, call-to-action buttons, and clear messaging.

In the third email of the day, BOXT briefly introduced the BOXT account point system with a very eye-catching headline and a crisp email interface. While reminding me that I could earn more points by referring a friend, a button allowed me to easily jump to the website and review the three ways I could earn more points. I was more deeply linked to the brand!

Screenshot from BOXT official website

3. Promote Valuable Content with the Right Frequency

I received three separate marketing campaigns in the future. Two of the emails were about a spring discount campaign, both of which gave me a link to the purchase screen and told us to enter “SPRING” as the code to get a 20% discount when we pay. The third email is also about a discount campaign, which is buy one and get a refill for 50% off. where the 50% off discount will automatically apply to your first refill. BOXT offers a lot of discounts in the early stages of email marketing!

Screenshot from the email marketing I received

The email that got me the most was a campaign that taught me how to make a spring drink special. At the bottom of this post, the code for the discount was again offered.

Screenshot from BOXT official website

I’ve been told that 2–3 emails a week is a great frequency to send to clients, and BOXT does that. Receiving 3 campaign content is a frequency I can live with.

My Recommendation

BOXT’s current email marketing is successful in providing value to subscribers while driving conversions and revenue for the business. I believe I will continue to receive more emails in the future about special discounts or offers, new product promotions, wine knowledge and other related topics. As of now, I have received some repetitive content, but I continue to look forward to receiving more diverse and quality content in the future.

Other than the second post asking me if I would like to continue to subscribe to email marketing, I have not received any other emails that I can interact with the brand. Interesting polls and contests with attractive prizes might get more people interested. I look forward to more emails that interact with the BOXT brand in the future.

Some of the product and campaign images are not particularly high definition when viewed on a computer. The aesthetics of BOXT’s emails could be improved. Aesthetics are essential to retaining customers and making people want to actively click on the emails.

All in all, I hope BOXT doesn’t waste the potential of emails on mundane content that leaves the listener uninspired.

--

--

Cindy Wang
Marketing in the Age of Digital

2024 Masters in Integrated Marketing Candidate at NYU |Storyteller|Digital Marketing| Dreamer hitting the road