Use “HowToFascinate.com” to know who you are

YueQi-Aria
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 23, 2020

Plenty of assessments tell you how you see the world. But the real question is, how does the world see you? — Sally Hogshead

About “HowToFascinate.com”

The “HowToFascinate.com” is the only personality test to unlock your personality’s Fascinate profile, and discover how the world sees you today. World-class branding expert Sally Hogshead discovered a new way to measure how people perceive your communication, through the Fascination Personality Test.

First Reaction To “HowToFascinate.com”

There are only 28 questions in the test, and each question is very short and well understood. But even for everyday problems, testers still need to think briefly to remember how they and friends around behave in daily life. The whole test process is not long; it only takes more than ten minutes to end the entire test and get the results. This result shows how does the world see you. When I first started this test, I was skeptical, but the test gradually attracted me.

What Is My Archetype?

My primary advantage is “Alert” and the secondary advantage is “Trust”. My advantage lies in my ability to mediate, building harmony among teams, which make people often turn to me as the “hub” of a group. Others often describe me as loyal and hardworking. By the report, I can combine the detail-orientation of Alert with the sincerity and stability of Trust. In the office, I am valued for my ability to stay on track and get things done, like relishing the act of crossing items off my to-do list. But unfortunately, I will become unsettled by chaos, because I prefer to have a set schedule, with clearly defined roles and expectations.

Did it feel true?

The moment I saw the test results, I was surprised. I think the results are much more accurate than I thought, especially the primary advantage.
In daily life, I am indeed a very cautious person. I will make a schedule for each day, and at the same time I will try to complete the tasks according to my own plan. Such daily planning will make me feel very secure. When planning for the future, I will also consider a lot of factors. I hope that with careful consideration, my goals and plans are feasible. Introspecting my daily life, I am indeed a very “Alert” person, but I did not realize this before I saw the test results.
However, one thing this test made me realize is that I never thought that my secondary advantage would be “Trust”. I think this may also be because my primary advantage is “Alert”, so I will be trusted.

AboutThe Idea Of Fascination As A Marketer

In Sally Hogshead’s Ted speech, she mentioned that, according to a report from the BBC, the addictive nature of web browsing can leave you with an attention span of 9 seconds. To earn more attention, we need to make the most of these nine seconds to activate the trigger. In my opinion, the most effective way to find the trigger is to see our internal fascination. Show as much of our existing fascination as possible, which can more effectively attract the attention of others. Unfortunately, in daily life, many people may not find their fascination smoothly. Just like me, before I did the test, I didn’t realize that my primary advantage would be “Alert”, so I couldn’t use my fascination. But through “HowToFascinate.com”, we can better realize what our fascination is, so in the future life, we can use our fascination to earn more attention.
At the same time, “HowToFascinate.com” offers not only individual tests but also company-specific tests. This is an excellent opportunity for companies that haven’t defined their positioning. After clarifying their company’s fascination, marketers can also better develop their own marketing plans.

--

--

YueQi-Aria
Marketing in the Age of Digital

From BeiJing, China | Currently live in NewYork | Integrated Marketing Program of Nyu | Travel and Music | Love And Peace