Zorell Havercome
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min read6 days ago

--

Weekly Fun Fact: You will get bored of your home decor at some point. When searching for and your next aesthetic user experience (UX) will be the number one thing that is a predictor of your purchase.

Marketing Connection

In marketing, we consider user experience to be one of the primary factors that dictate, whether or not you are persuaded to purchase a product. I know there are millions of stores that you could shop at for home decor and they range from Pottery Barn all the way down to IKEA. If you’re really not tech savvy you can just use Amazon as your one stop shop. I have an affinity for shopping and I recently fell in love with decor. So, since we’re acquainted I’ll have you know west elm is an amazing store. The design of their website is calm,clean, and inviting. It is everything you want to be as an individual. I heard about them having some really nice decor from a friend that had redone her apartment. In her words it is “Very mindful,very cutesy, very demure!” I agree!

Ruby Rug

Effective UX

Their desktop UX looks beautiful. It caters to a cosmopolitan niche beige aesthetic, with a primary focus on neutral and natural earthy tones. A chair with a simplistic design can fit into anyone’s home, no matter the theme. Some of the designs have customizable features that can add a personal touch to a space. According to Baymard Institute, West Elm has a decent UX rating. The company has created a user-friendly interface that showcases its products effectively and facilitates easy navigation for customers. They also have great placement of icons on the website to navigate to other pieces in the collection. Additionally, you can measure the placement of products in your space using AI. Not all companies in the field offer the in home virtual sample.

New Dinnerware collection

In West Elm we trust

We can trust West Elm’s products because of their long history of making quality products (22 years). They offer an online assistant, and it’s easy to spend hours on the site scrolling through all of the different shades of green or brown. They even do B2B sales, so if I love my furniture, I can recommend it to my boss and possibly generate new business that way as well. In all fairness, the older I get the more I want things to be calm and points of relaxation. Life is frustrating and stressful enough so neutral colors help to decompress. The website was easy to use offering guidance when needed. It didn’t take long to load, and even though I didn’t buy anything, it helped me figure out what I needed, which wasn’t a new couch. It was an accent rug to go under, giving the space a brand-new feel. Thus, a good old trusty “boring” website can do the job a super fancy one can as well by simply offering you a series of possibilities to decipher. So try them all. Maybe start with West Elm.

*With Sparkles and Curry Powder*

--

--

Zorell Havercome
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Integrated Marketing student sharing the information I learn with you. Education is best when shared not limited!!!!