Welcome to my blog

Devina Wang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readJul 8, 2023

Hello everyone! My name is Devina Wang, an international student from China who is currently majoring in Integrated Marketing in NYU. I graduated from UC Irvine, and this is my first year in New York. I hope this city will bring me different surprises.

I’m interested in digital marketing and blogging because I’m personally passionate about a Chinese app called The RedBook. It’s a social platform where people blog about their lives and share their experiences in travel, fashion, shopping, etc. And it maintains realizable wealth where people will buy the products you describe and recommend through your words in the blogs. In the last year, my best friend and I created a brand of preserved flowers, named 2nd Rose, mainly based in Los Angeles and New York. With the views and attention brought by blogging on The Red Book, it brought us hundreds of Chinese customers and made me understand that an innovative, wonderful blog post, while expressing its own value, can also bring business opportunities for the first time.

In the era of digital communication, big data technology has started to break the old thinking and drive a total upgrade of marketing. Bloggers have to keep innovating their thinking all the time. Consumers trust products recommended by people in the same age group as themselves on social networks or blogs more than the obvious corporate marketing campaigns. Due to the speed of communication in the digital age, bloggers are more likely to ensure the authenticity and validity of the content they write to avoid misinformation being spread.

Digital marketing is the only course I have declared for this summer. I hope that in the next month or so, I will be able to learn the advantages and disadvantages of digital marketing and traditional marketing, how to use such marketing methods to acquire customers, build brand reputation and enhance the connection with customers. Since my undergraduate studies are in economics, I am also looking forward to how different students from different professional backgrounds will have different insights in the face of marketing. I hope to grow together with my teachers and friends, and discover new innovative ideas and business opportunities together.

--

--