Welcome To The Virtual House Of Chanel

Eva Khanpara
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readMar 26, 2023

Whoever said E-Mail marketing is dead clearly didn’t receive a newsletter from House of Chanel in their inbox. I signed up for the Chanel newsletter on their website and immediately fell in love with their welcome email. Chic, classy, and attention-grabbing just like the brand.

Sign Up Page for the Chanel Newsletter

The Sign-Up Process

I went to the Chanel website and the sign-up was towards the bottom of the home page (also the landing page. See I’m getting better at using marketing terminology). I just had to enter my email and agree to the T&C and voila! Very quick and easy.

As soon as I signed up, I got a “Welcome to CHANEL” email in my inbox. It was a two short paragraph email that welcomed me to their newsletter and linked their website to discover Chanel and their collections. The email’s second paragraph guaranteed their privacy policy and provided a link where I can change my personal information whenever I want to. The email’s tone was humble, respectful, and formal (Even their tone screamed regal and classy). The majority of the space in the email was taken up with Chanel spelled out in big bold letters and a black and white graphic of some of their most popular products. This worked well with the welcome email and matched the brand aesthetics.

Welcome Email from Chanel

Email Best Practices

Chanel is not overbearing with their marketing emails and I say this because I signed up for their email marketing on Monday and other than the welcome email I have not received any other email since then and today is Saturday (At least Chanel understands that bombarding people’s inboxes with emails is not the road to success).

Email best practices are very important to a brand’s success with email marketing. Considering I have only received one email from the brand, I don’t have much ground to comment on their email marketing best practices. However, just from that one welcome email, I can comment on the following,

Content: The content is clear, and precise, uses visuals, and is consistent with the brand aesthetics.

Personalization: There was no personalization such as the email being addressed directly to me.

Mobile Friendly: It was definitely mobile-friendly and easy to read on any device

Call to Action: Clear and precise asking me to explore their website to discover their collections and get to know the brand more

Conclusion

The sign-up process was very easy and the welcome email was concise and the graphics were consistent with the brand aesthetics. I cannot comment on their email marketing practices because I have only received one email however, I definitely suggest increasing the frequency of the emails to new recipients that sign-up. While spamming recipients’ inboxes antagonizes them, a very low frequency of emails can cause the recipients to forget about the brand altogether. I also think that Chanel being a legacy luxury brand does not think people will ever forget about the brand and therefore doesn’t think it is necessary to email customers until necessary such as for a collection launch (this is just what I think though. I realize I am also making a big assumption based on their brand reputation which might be an entirely wrong way to look at this).

Don’t forget to share your experience with Chanel email marketing or share any emails you might have found interesting!

--

--

Eva Khanpara
Marketing in the Age of Digital

"Always seeking adventures". A marketing enthusiast pursuing a Master in Integrated Marketing at NYU!