What does everyone REALLY think of you?

Roseanne Attia
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 21, 2021
source: www.howtofascinate.com

Who are you?

In my opinion, this is one of the hardest questions you can ask a person. My answer would probably change on a daily basis depending on my mood or what my priorities are for that day. I am a daughter, a sister, a dog mom, a student, a friend, a classmate, a marketer, a creative, a chocolate enthusiast…. You get it.

As impossible as that question is, an even harder one lies in How does the world… see you? You can get a glimpse of your reflection but you will never truly see what you look like to the world no matter how hard you work to craft your appearance and shape your personality. In an effort to get a better understanding of what people see in me I sought out the help of a 28 question survey that helps individuals define their values and differentiate themselves in order to build a stronger brand for themselves. It's called The Fascinate Test by Sally Hogshead.

This quick and to-the-point assessment categorizes people into 49 archetypes. Each archetype has a primary and secondary advantage as well as a dormant advantage. So here are my results!

My Archetype:

I personally have never referred to myself as a ringleader as someone who has grown up grouped into the introverted category. However, after going through my assessment results it all seemed so on the money. My results stated that as the Ringleader archetype I lead with power which means that I enjoy leading projects and goal-oriented. I also absolutely love motivating groups — a skill I gained in my many years working as a summer camp counselor leading children in sports and other activities. My secondary advantage is Passion which means I enjoy creating strong and authentic connections. My honesty and expressiveness is engaging and can make working with me more enjoyable.

What was even more interesting to me is that it was able to identify what I thought was a strength of mine as the opposite. My dormant advantage is alertness. I have always been an observant person. I like to listen and analyze before making any moves which help me make more confident decisions. However, based on my analysis, my dormant advantage is also described as my quicksand, and sometimes that could be what causes me to feel stuck. This is valuable information as someone who is always trying to achieve perfection and a good reminder to myself to not get hung up on every detail.

What does this mean to me?

I pride myself on being a caring and motivating friend and colleague so this assessment was great in helping me use those personality traits and see them as a potential brand moving forward. In a world that craves authenticity, this is a brand I really want to prioritize for myself. Thanks to the How To Fascinate test I can now continue to build my own brand with more confidence and clarity.

--

--