What if I sign-up for the Doritos!

Yaki wang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readOct 30, 2022
Doritos sign-up popup window

What happened when I sign-up?

I’ll attempt to register for the tortilla chips right away! Ooops, wait. It’s PepsiCo Tasty Rewards. Since 1964, Frito-Lay, a fully owned subsidiary of PepsiCo, has been making the American brand of flavored tortilla chips known as Doritos. The PepsiCo tasty rewards combines all of the company’s brands, including email marketing and sign-up system.

Anyway, it is easy to sign up. You can sign-up the tasty rewards by just providing a few pieces of basic information. However, I don’t think the date of birth and gender have relevant to a sign-up.

Doritos- PepsiCo sign up

How is Doritos doing Email Marketing?

After signing up, it took half a day to receive a welcome email from PepsiCo with emojis and with “coupon” in the subject line. And there was a highlight line in the front says “Yaki, life just got tastier! view in browser.”, which was try to lead me to view more on their website. However, I do not think most of people will click that before view the rest of email.

The following shows a big picture of PepsiCo’s brand products, with obviously red words “ YOU’RE IN! Now let’s start saving.” Followed by some welcome comments and coupon information- a button leading you to the PepsiCo rewards page where you can choose ten exclusive member coupons at your favorite brand and check out the current coupons in three different ways- mail, print, or digital. After that, you have to fill out your mailing address, which does not make any sense to ask my mailing address if I would like to choose a digital way to get my coupons. I do think it required too much information from me to get the coupons. I would like to give up on the next step rather than get them.

Email from PepsiCo

Are Doritos or PepsiCo using email best practices?

I am not agree with that.

One day after receiving the initial welcome email, PepsiCo did send me another promotional email. It was a Halloween campaign for their products, named Spooky Snack Lab, for some scary good recipes and coupons. However, this email did not appeal to me at all. First, this email’s visual layout is unattractive, and I do not want to read further. the first picture shows Ruffles original chips and Doritos cheese-flavored nachos, which have nothing to do with the recipes in the “Spooky Snack Lab.” Thirdly, the email doesn’t clearly outline the campaign’s goals; instead, it simply directs readers to their website with a big click button in their email. I’m not sure I want to visit the website any further until I understand what’s going on for the campaign.

In my opinion, PepsiCo needs to revamp its email marketing strategy and consider how to appeal to people’s desires. In addition, too many information requests for sign-up and the way to get coupons will definitely lose customers.

I should better try buying Doritos just in-store rather than receiving email marketing promotions from PepsiCo.

--

--