What if the world doesn’t see you the way you think? First Step to Personal Branding

Pawita Kasemsan N.
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readFeb 11, 2022

Have you ever wondered how the world sees you? And I don’t mean just from your appearances or how you dress, but the values and personalities that make who you are.

It’s a beautiful morning with warm sunshine that I haven’t seen for a while since it’s winter in NYC. I’m sitting on my desk with a cup of my favorite tea, ready to write my weekly blog, which I’d say I’m very excited about it. Why? It’s because I will be taking the How to Fascinate YOU personality test for the first time.

MindCapture

All my close friends know that I have a thing for personality tests. My favorites are the 16Personalities, or you may know it as Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, and the Character Strengths by VIA Institute. I always recommend them to other people whenever I get a chance because, for me, I believe learning more about yourself and understanding other people's points of view gives you insights on how to be a better and happier person.

How the world sees you

Sally Hogshead, a New York Times bestselling author and #1 Global Brand Guru 2019, launched How To Fascinate, a 28-question personality test that helps discover how we are likely to impress and influence others, which then differentiate ourselves as a brand or as a marketer.

The test took me less than 5 minutes since I tried not to overthink and choose the first answer that pop into my mind. The report focused on understanding how you best communicate and what your major personalities are, which can be used as advantages in the aspect of personal brand marketing.

The Archer

My archetype is the Archer. On-target reasoned, and pragmatic are the 3 words that describe how the world sees me and I couldn’t agree more.

I enjoy analyzing and understanding how things work and why things happened. Whenever someone says something that makes me skeptical, I google it up straight away. I don’t like leaving things undone and, yes, I like to do things right and I don’t easily back down.

Archetype — the Archer

Fascination Trigger

When we understand how our personality can trigger the interests of people around us, we can create fascination. They are a combination of primary and secondary advantages.

My primary advantage, or my most effective mode of communication that makes me fascinating, is Mystique. In short, a complex mind and reserved demeanor. I intrigue others with understatement, communicate selectively and purposefully, with a minimalist approach.

My secondary advantage is Alert. Proactive and aware of the situation. Most of all organized and detailed. Again, correct. Both Mystique and Alert combined, and I got my archetype — the Archer

The dormant advantage, or the most exhausting form of communication and the least way you are to impress others. Mine turned out to be, Power. The need to control and overtly command others is undeniably drained me and I absolutely struggled through it in the past. I always wanted to work in an environment where people are flexible, open-minded, and comfortable sharing their thoughts.

The 7 Triggers of Fascination

What do I think?

Did it feel true to me? Yes.

I kind of agreed on my archetype and I really enjoyed the insights. However, I feel that the results are a little too restricted because I believe that there can be a mixture of different characteristics in a person. I wish there were more to read on it, but of course, it’s only available in the paid version, which is very tempting and it’s only a click away.

Building a Personal Brand

It’s difficult to build something when you don’t really understand it. Just like ourselves, the first step is to explore and discover who we really are, what our values are, and how that makes us unique from others.

The How To Fascinate test gave me more confidence in which way I can promote myself best as a brand and a marketer and I especially love this quote.

To become more successful, you don’t have to CHANGE who you are… you have to become MORE of who you are. — Sally Hogshead

I would say, don’t leave a doubt on how others see you or How the world really sees you. The personality test will only take you a few minutes, and I, as an independent logical archetype person, recommend it.

Wouldn’t you consider giving it a try?

--

--

Pawita Kasemsan N.
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Explorer • Digital Marketing • NYU Grad Student • Inspiration Seeker • Balance Lifestyle • Foodie