What phrase would define who you are?

Liwen Zhang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 13, 2022

--

CC0 Image; Sourced from Unsplash

For a person who has examined the MBTI Personality test, 16PF test, and is addicted to research on the zodiac, profiling myself is definitely the most interesting area for me. You may think personality tests are ridiculous, but it is undeniable that people have commonalities with each other.

A five-minute test with 28 questions

When I started Fascinate Test, I feel excited. I’ve always been addicted to taking various kinds of tests, from testing “when I find soul mate” as a kid to being obsessed with personality tests later on. The test was so short that I had a feeling of “Am I done?” after the 28 questions. The questions are set on a scale from “Not me” to “Totally me”, which is very straightforward to follow. When I studied the questions carefully, I found that most of the questions were asked in a way that assessed me from the perspective of others. For example, there is a question like “do others often see you as …” I felt the experience of taking this exam is very unique since most of my previous tests are self-oriented.

Not a surprising result

My archetype is the Trendsetter, in this test the archetype is a combination of two advantages. For me, the primary advantage is Innovation, and the second advantage is Prestige. Let’s take a look at the official explanation: the Trendsetter is typically competitive and ambitious and is good at identifying future trends and is willing to seek breakthroughs.

In terms of innovation, three keywords are officially given, creativity, visionary, and entrepreneurial. It could be identified in the workplace by acting and speaking with spontaneity. In terms of prestige, keywords are ambitious, results-oriented, respected and could be identified by maintaining high standards in work, relationships and for themselves.

My result

To be honest, this test depicts an accurate result. These two triggers prompt me as an advocate of communication and make it easy for me to be a key opinion leader among my friends. Especially working in groups, I can often easily keep a finger on the pulse. Meanwhile, I am not willing to stick to tradition and always covet to explore a new path, whether it’s in my lifestyle or in my work. This guides me motivated and competitive to achieve better results.

However, the weaknesses in my personality also exert influence on my advantages. As a typical Libra(zodiac), I have a very balanced personality, which makes me loyal to Pacifism, a belief that any violence is unjustifiable, but it also makes me difficult to choose when faced with a choice. This limits me to show my secondary trigger in certain situations. My indecisiveness neutralizes my ambition.

Necessary? For sure.

When you know exactly how others see you, you are more likely to win the client, close the deal, earn a standing ovation, build your following, grow your business, have more freedom, aim higher, accomplish more and over-deliver. — — HOWTOFASCINATE

The test gives me a more comprehensive understanding of myself, and I enjoy the process of deciphering myself and more importantly it benefits me to seek the appropriate position in my future self-development. Undoubtedly, any test has limitations in interpreting the full picture of ourselves, but this test helps us to identify our most valuable differentiating strengths. This information is indispensable in building a stable personal brand.

These triggers with other traits of mine are like pieces of a puzzle: creativity and cutting-edge thinking; passion for new media and marketing; pursuing pacifism and aesthetics, etc. I’m now using them in full force to piece together a vision of my future career. Specifically, team-oriented work is probably better for me than an industry that requires me to work alone. Also, positions that require innovation are preferred, such as marketing strategy design and digital marketing.

Not only for marketers, but anyone can learn about their strengths from a fresh perspective through testing. So, what about you? What phrase would define who you are?

#sallyhogshead #howtofascinate Joanne Tombrakos

--

--

Liwen Zhang
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Grad student at NYU Integrated Marketing |Insights Enthusiast|