What shines on you?

Angela Zhou
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readMar 4, 2023

What is Fascinate test?

Fascinate test is a test that defines your value, analys what makes you different. This test only had 28 questions, and each question gave me four choices on the scale level. However, I feel like some of the questions I could not find a better answer, so I have to decide which one I am more likely is. It does ask some questions that depend on the situation because it is hard to define.

What is my result?

My archetype is the catalyst, and my primary and secondary triggers are a combination of passion and innovation. I feel the passions describe me exactly, but innovation probably does not best describe me. My top 5 are out-of-the-box, social, energizing, enthusiastic and creative. Based on the explanation, it said I am easy to make friends with, which is true, because I feel like I am easy to get know about people and start a conversation.

Based on Sally Hogshead’s How to Fascinate’s Ted Talk, it said people’s first impression on the website is very important, which is the 9 second. It is interesting that goldfish only have 7 second’s memory, we only have 9 second’s on web browsing to make a decision. Which shocks me, and I do pause and think about it. Do I really use 9 seconds on the website to make some decisions, I think most of the time, yes. Not related to with Dating App, but even online shopping, based on the image, I know that is the thing I want to purchase.

How I feel?

This week, I also took the Clifton 34 strength test, which shows my first strength is “WOO”. Connecting with this fascinate test, it does make sense because I usually bring people altogether. Based on my real-life experience, I can said that passion and woo best describe my most outstanding personality.

The second advantage is innovation, which includes inventive, unpredictable, out-of-the-box and so on. I sometimes can hear people describe me as unpredictable because I will say or do something which surprises them, but I never think it relates to innovation, now I know what it is.

What will my future path be?

It looks like I have strong communication skills because I have a passion to connecting with people together. Marketing is a great working direction to keep going with, also, marketing always needs new ideas. My innovation advantage is to bring them some new ideas which is different from others. I like trying new things, and once I am interested, I always immediately put a lot of effort in to start. Myself, I have to show people how unique and how to innovative I am to show my value. This test also show I have strong leadership power, which indicates that I am confident and have the ability to lead a team. Marketing also innovating, if we present old staff, can not draw people’s attention, that is a failure.

I think this test fits how people look at me from their perspective, and it finds a better word to describe me as a person in the future to introduce me to others. At the same time, it gives me direction on where I can do better, which sometimes people will not tell you.

If you confused and need a direction, maybe you should spend few minutes to find out, what SHINES on you!

--

--