What Should We Expect from the Fascinate Test?

KEXIN WANG
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readSep 29, 2019

Is the Fascinate Test Accurate? Why this 5-minute personality test can easily describe me?

This time my archetype is the Subtle Touch, which contains one primary advantage — mystique, and one secondary advantage — passion. Refer to the Fascinate Test, I am a seeming mystic, logical, and cold person. But deep inside my heart, I am also authentic and care about people.

I always don’t really enjoy taking personality tests, and I consider personality tests as something like zodiac signs. They are fun but not based on fact or science. For the result I get from Fascinate Test, I feel that might be true. I think I truly am that kind of person who does not want to draw others’ attention and care about people in a silent way. But I have to admit, I am also very confused about the rest of my personality report. I don’t even know myself that well.

16 Personality Types by Myers & Briggs

Most people have taken a lot of personality test before. I can still remember that I am an INTJ. Based on the famous Myers & Briggs’ personality test, I am an analytical problem-solver, believing in logical thinkings more than unpredictable emotions. Actually, I strongly agree with the result that I am a logical person. But there’s a twist in it. Logical person should not believe what the personality test claims before he/she analyzes it. After I did some research a couple of years ago, I found that most of the personality tests are not based on concrete science or psychology. Instead, personality tests are created by test creators’ subjective thoughts about different personalities. Are personality tests describe who we are? No, I can’t fully agree. I think personality tests describe how the test creator see us.

Fascinate Test does a good job claiming its result is how other people observe you. It is not who you truly are, but how others think of you. And as a marketer, the idea of Fascination is about how to exploit the impression you leave on others, create your unique marketing brand, and take steps to market yourself in a skillful way. In the marketing world, personality tests like the Fascinate Test can be helpful. If you notice that people might value some of your traits, then you can develop them and meet people’s expectations. Not simply like personality tests describe people, marketing cares more about how to influence and engage people effectively and how the target audience feel about you.

--

--

KEXIN WANG
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Current graduate student majoring in integrated marketing. Previously worked for a financial institution as a fund data analyst. Trying to find a way to change.