WHY IG keep launching new features? SO ANNOYING!

mata chan 馬它
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 20, 2023

This morning I saw that Adam Mosseri, the head of Instagram, announced IG’s new feature “ Broadcast Channels 📣 “ on his new post.

As a content creator, it’s always need to pay attention on the new update of social media platform. BUT AGAIN? There are already lots of new features on Instagram. I have no chance to try any new part and start to see something I have no idea about showing on my profile…

In fact, people complain that IG tries so hard to compete with TikTok that becoming another TikTok, which annoys IG users.

Broadcast Channels now let users can build community inside the Instagram

Let’s talk about the IG new features first

I am glad to see this new feature.

Last year, I started building my online community on Line. The reason is now the number of your followers is optional anymore; how strong, the connection with your followers is more crucial.

Therefore, creating an online community for your real fans can make them feel like VIPs, and it’s easier to interact with them, like collecting feedback on the topic of new content or answering their questions.

Based on my observations, people in this community are more willing to ask questions or provide reactions.

For now, I also can do the same thing on Instagram, creating a channel to share my daily with my audience in more organic and native ways, as opposed to trying to keep pushing contents to people. At the same time, I believe it will soon also be expanded to Facebook and Messenger as well.

There still lots of new features I dislike…

#1 Note feature — no one use it now. I promise

So it’s the feature being available in Instagram Messenger, where people can write and send Notes in their DMs.

However, it works the same as an IG story; the only difference is that the feature can only post text rather than pictures. I feel like an IG story can provide more information, so there is no reason I should switch to this page and only see that tiny text…

Notes appear in the messenger header.

#2 My feed is entirely ads

There is a common situation for me: my friend posted a cute picture or video, but I never see it on my feed… 60 percent of the posts on my newsfeed are from accounts I do not follow, which is even more serious than TikTok.

#3 Always need to catch people’s eye in the first 5 seconds

After more and more video content on Instagram, I always think about the beginning of my video content.

How can I avoid people swiping my video?

I understand that good content is always the important thing. However, you can’t make “all the good things” turn into 5 seconds only, right? That’s why I miss that time we still could see photos and videos and different formats of content on Instagram.

There are lots of people still asking for the original Instagram

However, we are not the people who make the decision of Instagram. At the same time, we can also see more people make videos to follow this change rather than switch to other social media platforms.

So, let’s see what new features will be launched in the coming weeks.

--

--

mata chan 馬它
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A biomedical engineering student and now a product marketing freelance and content creator in New York. Love and share any marketing experience here!