Why I’m starting a blog

Davina Zhuo
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readFeb 3, 2020

Writing blogs is a powerful marketing tool.

As online media evolving rapidly, marketers are choosing different media techniques to advertise. When I was walking down to SOHO yesterday, a man was standing in front of the Benefit store, shooting a video with his phone. COME AND CHECK ON US, the man said. That was the very moment I realize the powerful effect of media on marketing. Different from various social media nowadays, blogging, as a traditional marketing tool, increases online visibility and attracts visitors to a brand conversation. It helps a brand to stand out from the industry.

Blogging is different from any other media.

Writing a blog is not as easy as orally telling a story. Metaphors and quotes are used carefully during writing so that people can ensure to convey the exact idea. I feel really excited since this is the first time I blog and share my own opinions. It is totally different from posting something on Instagram or Facebook, which people can share lives by using photos and simple quotes. Blogging is all about the writer’s idea. Besides, expressions in blogs are more formal than any other media. People would consider the appropriateness of the words and sentences they are using.

I’m putting real-life stories in blogs.

I am interested in stories behind brands and legendary persons. The time I attended the Advertising Week in 2019, here in New York City, I found the event extraordinarily fascinating. One of the most wonderful presentations was Corporations & Compassion: A Discussion on Masculinity, presented by CAA (Creative Artists Agency).The most inspiring quote I’ve heard is that, RIGHT HAS NO GENDER, TRUTH HAS NO COLOR, which is said by Ryan Jamaal Swain, an actor and also a spokesperson of queer group. From that moment, I decided to put more efforts to speak up for the LGBTQ in marketing industry.

Start writing blogs for joy.

I am impressed with Professor Tombrakos (my NYU professor) keeping a JOY JAR to acknowledge those valuable moments. Simple things of childhood or experience of adulthood could be materials for blogs. Writing a blog is not only a traditional marketing tool but also a daily life recorder. I will share my life in NYU, study journey in marketing and also my thoughts regarding latest issues. Most importantly, I am writing blogs for joy.

New York City in winter, 2020

--

--

Davina Zhuo
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU Student, Marketing & Finance major, Learning Tools of Marketing, Digital Marketing, Stats of Marketing.