Will AI Help Me Become Bilingual?

Ariel Roldan
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min read2 days ago

Have you ever used Duolingo?

Photo by ilgmyzin on Unsplash

I’ve recently become a very avid user of the app. I spent years in middle and high school taking Spanish classes and for whatever reason, I’ve retained little to no knowledge of the language.

I’ve always wanted to learn Spanish, especially since I’m half Puerto Rican. People talk to me in Spanish all the time assuming I know the language and I usually stand there like a deer in headlights searching my brain for the right words to say.

Recently, I decided to really focus on learning the language, so I downloaded Duolingo. The platform makes it so simple to learn key words and phrases. It also allows me to have a streak, which motivates me to use the app every day to keep it. I‘ve been using the app for 26 days in a row!

The platform is filled with different tactics meant to improve the user experience and boost the amount of time people stay on the app.

One of my concerns with using the app was that I felt like I was learning a lot of vocabulary and some basic phrases, but I still couldn't have a conversation with a Spanish speaker.

I started to see ads about Duolingo’s premium subscription for Super Duolingo that comes with AI powered vocabulary sets and Duolingo Max that comes with AI generated explanation of mistakes made and a role play feature that allows you to practice speaking the language. This is one of their advertisements. I’ve seen these advertisements very frequently on the app since they show you an advertisement after every lesson if you have the free subscription.

I’m sure that I’m not the only user that was concerned about being able to confidently speak in this new language I’m learning. These new features and this new advertisement is definitely helping them reach their marketing goal of boosting revenue because users will sign up for their premium subscription to feel more confident in the language.

The role play feature is so exciting because I feel like that will help me feel more confident speaking the language and I can practice having an actual conversation in Spanish. I’ll be bilingual in no time!

When I read more about the new AI features, I loved seeing that the AI isn’t running the show on it’s own. Duolingo’s experts are working with the AI to make sure the lessons are effective. They are also reviewing the features for mistakes.

I believe that’s where our society is headed — AI boosting our workflow. You can read more about these new features here.

As I read more about the ‘Explain my mistake’ feature and how it’s supposed to be helpful if you keep getting the same concept wrong, I began to wish Quizlet had a feature like that as well. Then, I went to check, and Quizlet also has a new AI feature offering a similar benefit. Ha! You can read more about Quizlet’s new AI features here.

I think integrating generative AI features into products and services are essential. So many companies are doing it now that if a company doesn't, they are falling behind. Over 20% of companies are adamant about implementing AI and almost half of all companies are exploring AI.

*Learn more about the popularity of AI integration here.*

As AI continues to develop, these numbers will only go up. Understanding AI and working with it to improve products and services will be essential for business to thrive in this digital age.

--

--

Ariel Roldan
Marketing in the Age of Digital
0 Followers

Hi! My name is Ariel and I'm a passionate marketing student looking forward to learning more about digital marketing