Would you buy it by “junk mail”?

Hannah Yang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readMar 26, 2023

I was bothered by a ton of emails from different brands every day and marked them all as junk mail. But I also bought something I need by the link in my junk mail like the yoga apparel, which always has seasonal designs and I don’t want to miss it. So I did the purchase by “junk mail” and enjoy it.

Here comes email marketing which is essential to the marketing plan of a brand. The company always needs to have a way to reach out to new customers and retain existing customers, email would be the best way here to set up the bridge between the company and customers.

Since the last time I am introducing stories and campaigns of canned wines named SANS WINE CO., I signed up for their mailing list and evaluated a bit of their email marketing.

https://sanswineco.com/

When I was opening sans’ website, a pop-up asked me to subscribe to their email to get 20% off my first order and stay up to date on Sans Wine Co. news and happenings. It is an easy first step to sign up for the newsletter.

It is always a great chance to get a discount on our first purchase. So I always go for it and I decide to unsubscribe right after I use the coupon. But the reality is not the same all the time, I forgot to unsubscribe and I got lots of newsletters in my mailboxes.

After I signed up, a welcome email was immediately sent to my junk mailbox. It talks about the story of Sans Wine Co. which I introduced last time. Until now, this is the only email I received from them, which is not a good thing for email marketing. Up-to-date information is important for customers who are interested in their brand. Without any other support emails to retain their interest, they may easily forget about they have the interest to buy canned wines from Sans Wine CO.

Here is a good thing to mention at the end of their welcome email, some links to their social media are attached like Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Website. It is easy to direct customers to their more active social media to know more up-to-date information about Sans Wine CO.

From my perspective, I am interested in the canned wines of Sans Wine Co. So I am looking forward to seeing more emails about their new products, virtual campaigns, and promotions. If I did not see any updated email from Sans Wine Co., I can forget about the decision to attempt canned wines.

Therefore, more “junk mail” are welcomed to my mailbox, Sans Wine CO.!

--

--

Hannah Yang
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Marketing with Digital emphasis in University of Georgia - Marketing in Data Analysis in NYU - Lots of marketing, music, food, self-discipline, and better self