You All Fascinating

Tony Chao
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readSep 29, 2019

You know, humans truly are so fascinating. Credited to “God”, each of us is unique and we all have some traits to make us stand out. Often, however, we hide the traits for some purpose; we don’t want others to see the true “us”. We are afraid that the things we do or traits we show would affect what people view us. To be perfectly involved in society, we want to do things we can be liked. But as we grow up, we start to forget the true self and realize how important those traits mean to us.

The Fascinating Test

Human has created a lot of great technology and has improved it every single day. We have technology that makes our life easier (such as high-speed rail); we have technology that helps us understand ourselves better. This past week, I have taken a personality test. This test is incredibly amazing; after filling out your information and answering a few questions, it gives an objective view from other people to you.

My Report from the Test

The first part of the result shows how the world sees me with the description of three adjectives: protective, purposeful, and analytics and all three combined are called “the Anchor”. The “protective” shows that I am respectful to other people on the group; the “purposeful” means that I am dependable and also do things with a purpose in mind; The “analytics” describes that I like to breakdown things with reasons.

That’s Totally Me!

I am happy that this test allows a third-party service to view me from an objective perspective. There are a few moments that I cannot give a proper explanation for the action I did. The test gave me the primary and secondary advantages I have: trust and mystique. These two are weirdly matched, but this is who I am. I am the kind of person looking for trust and willing to trust people for everything they do. Sometimes, though, it is really hard to trust someone because they often disappointed us. But I still want to build trust among my colleagues, friends, and customers. Why? I want to feel safe as I am doing anything.

I don’t show the true me to others, which explains that I am mystique. Usually, I would be quite to the public but I am willing to spend time talking with my friends. As explained above, I am looking for trust, so before I think you are trustworthy, you won’t see the true “me”.

Fascinating the Customer

This test really helps me understand more about me. It provides the pros and cons of each archetype. With that information, you can really tell the advantages you have. You can also use that info at work. As a marketer, my archetype shows that I should keep my marketing team small. It allows me to build friendship and trust among colleagues. I am also not supposed to work under the spotlight or become the center of the team. Applying these in marketing, I feel like my work should be targeting a niche market or not-the-most-popular market because my personality doesn’t fit for large attentions.

In the end, I would suggest any of you to go check out the website, or the other similar website. It only aids you as you know more about yourself. Life is long, so only knowing yourself completely and doing things you are good at can make you live happily.

Hope you all have an excellent week!

TC

--

--