You see it. You like it. You circle it — You got it.

Tim Yu
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readFeb 24, 2024

Next generation of search engines — fueled by AI

Nowadays, when you see something you like, you search for it on Google; if it is shopping-related, you might want to go to Amazon. Most of the time, you also wouldn’t want to skip out on Google, as it helps you get a better comparison between online retailers such as Amazon and more traditional retailers such as Target and Walmart.

According to Statista, from 2014 to 2024, Google’s market share in the industry is about 81.95%, dominating the search engines industry. Now, even with its almost dominating power over the industry, how can google take on the next generation of search engines?

The answer is — Artificial intelligence (AI)

Image from the Forbesindia.com

Google has announced the new “Circle to search” function. Using AI, it allows users to search for anything on their mobile devices without switching to the Google search page or the app. This changes everything because it is another step closer for us to interact with the products and content with less friction.

.

Circle to search! Wait! What? Yes!

.

Bridging products and services

From a personal perspective, I had an experience where I wanted to buy a. portable clothes steamer so that I could iron my clothes on the go. When I googled the products, I couldn’t find anything that either fits within my budget or is small enough for travel use.

Then, when I came across this random person on social media talking about hygiene and sharing their daily routine, I saw a stylish steamer in the video, but the shots were too quick for me to capture the brand name, and the vlogger did not mention anything about the product either.

So there I was, seeing a fantastic product I wanted to purchase but did not know where or what it was called…

With Circle to search, I circle it, and it gives me options to buy it right at my fingertips.

Image generated by Midjourney by Tim Yu

Better engagement with detailed content

Have you ever watched a video about something so sophisticated that you don’t even know what it means? I was watching some random historical video about ancient Chinese culture, and then suddenly, they threw a random vocabulary that I have zero clue about it was.

I’m sitting there super confused, determining whether to continue or not. I am too lazy to pause the video to search for the meaning, and I will either continue watching with misunderstandings or switch to an easier-to-digest video.

The new function allows you to search on the spot, pulling out content summaries without disrupting your video experiences.

Image generated by Midjourney by Tim Yu

Now that’s impressive…

Fewer barriers with more understanding

With this new technology, I could already think of many other ways to implement it. Let’s say you want to learn French and start watching movies in French. Could the search function act as a supportive element? You don’t need to have your dictionary app opened or your notes opened.

Suppose this could be integrated with the Google translator and copilot from Microsoft. Not only does it help you translate the unfamiliar right on the spot, but it also identifies keywords to help take notes for further memorization. Think about how this could be the future of the learning tool for you to submerge yourself in a new language or even a new culture!

Image from Wired.com

I believe the circle-to-search function is just the beginning, the tip of the iceberg; there are countless functions to explore and even more applications to integrate with.

Connecting people with the content they need on the spot…

Simply circle it…done!

--

--

Tim Yu
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A traveler that loves watches and architecture. ✈️ Here to share stories of my journey!