Zero Sugar: Best Coke Ever?

Churan Zhao
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readJun 7, 2022

Zero sugar is a sugar-free and no-calories soft drink by Coco-Cola Company. This innovative product is the largest product launch in 22 years. As people improve their health awareness, Coco-Cola made this adjustment to their original product. I have the same annoyance as many other Coco-Cola fans, I was worried about the unhealthy of drinking Coco-Cola. For me, the perfect fact about Zero Cole is it keeps a very similar taste to Coco-Cola, but with artificial sweeteners. However before I tried Zero Sugar, I was worried that it was only a backup choice of the original Coke and that it may taste different from Coke.

This advertisement really pulled me in

People are hesitating about the new product. Therefore, the Coco-Cola company made this video. It really pushed me to buy one Zero Sugar and have a try. The fast music and magic lyrics attracted me to continue watching this video. The lyrics “yes” or “no” is what consumers are concerned about Zero Sugar, so why not “try it first”. After watching this video I want to try it first, instead of guessing yes or no. In addition, this very short and simple video tells the story that Zero Sugar has the confidence to be better than Coke. It states directly that the taste is improved and it is healthier. Coco-Cola is waiting that after trying it, consumers could say “yes, it is the best coke ever”. Now, they win the first step, people will buy one first.

Is it shareable?

I would say “yes”. As I said above, the music and the image in this video are very magic. It will attract people to watch it over and over. After I watch it, I would like to share it with my friend because it is very interesting and brainwashing. The question in this video “is it the best coke ever” will also stimulate people to discuss this product. For social and networking, people would like to share it.

--

--