SAMSUNG -HOW I GOT MY NEW SOUNDBAR

Samsung HW-Q950T9.1.4ch Soundbar w/Dolby Atmos

My Sony soundbar that I got at best buy as an open box item (means I got it cheaper than the normal price) just stopped working hence I needed to get a new soundbar.

Looking at my experience with my old soundbar, I resolved to buy a brand new soundbar, regardless of how expensive it turns out to be. The general process of buying a new product for most customers is almost identical, set a budget>look for different options that fall within the budget>read customer’s reviews to garner information about the product and>make a decision.

After going through this regular pattern of consumer behavior, I decided to reach out to Sony to try and pick out a new sound system. They had earlier informed me that the only way my warranty works for my product is for them to repair and I get to pay for the repair, I got mad but I understood their standpoint. I gave my budget and the functions I was looking out for. I was informed that the functionalities I want are out of my price range. I then decided to call Samsung seeing as my TV is Samsung.

Samsung asked me what I was looking for, I explained and I was told that it sits out of my budget, however seeing that my TV is Samsung, I can get a soundbar that overshoots my budget by $100 but they will install it for me for free. That did not seal the deal for me, but I told them that I will think about it and get back to them.

The real deal clincher was that they kept sending me emails fortnightly so tell me about new products that falls within my budget but does not have the functionality I am looking for, and also about ones that overshoot my budget but carries the functionalities I want in a sound system. I got a follow-up call and the rep told me that a promotion going on will ensure that I get a discount of $50, I get free delivery, and still get to keep the offer of free Installation. I could not turn it down at that point.

What did Samsung do differently than Sony?

They showed up regularly, consistently, and were generous. These are the traits Godin expects from marketers when he talked about “marketing in five steps’’. Whilst Sony did not bother about retaining an existing customer -Samsung went the extra mile to get a new customer. Nothing establishes value as much as when a brand creates an emotional connection with their customer.

--

--