A New Marketer and a Lifelong Marketer

Rivka Szafranski
Marketing Right Now
2 min readDec 15, 2021

My opinion of marketing has definitely changed. I used to view marketers as people who try to play a brain game with their prospective clients by convincing them to buy a product that they do not need or might not even be good for them. I used to think of marketers as extra people in an organization who are not really needed or not doing much for the company.

Now I understand that is completely not the case. Marketers are first and foremost people who research the clients of a company to understand their wants and needs and the settings in which products and services will be used. Then they implement programs that are geared to attract the right people to the right product that they can get what is best for them. No crazy mind games going on there, and lots more market research than I ever knew.

I think the world of marketing is one that will change every day- there will always be new trends, new creative processes, and new people who you can reach. That is a big challenge but also a tremendous opportunity- always room for improvement and a tremendous amount of creativity.

I think the biggest challenge for me will be that I do not think I will work in the marketing field for my entire career, but I do envision a life where marketing will be a large part of a role I can fill. In order to effectively market I will need to understand trends but also do not want to focus solely on that. I like to diversify my tasks and skills. If I can find a way to bridge the marketing aspect with other parts of my career goals, I will think of it as a success.

--

--