Convince consumers with pricing, even if it is expensive

LU XU
Marketing Right Now
4 min readMar 12, 2021

Although China’s high-speed rail is already very convenient, sometimes in order to save time, airplanes are still my preferred mode of transportation. I tend to pay more for buying tickets for China Southern Airlines when there are other options. I am a loyal customer of China Southern Airlines.

Meet the travel needs of consumers at any time

China Southern Airlines is the airline with the largest number of flights in China. The annual passenger flow of China Southern Airlines ranks first in Asia. It is also the world’s sixth-largest airline measured by passengers carried and Asia’s largest airline in fleet size, revenue, and passengers carried. Compared with other airlines, China Southern Airlines provides me with more choices of departure time. I can find a China Southern Airlines flight that suits me at any time of the day. Because of this, its pricing will be higher than other airlines. However, “because people from assumptions and associations based on your pricing, and your pricing shapes what people believe about your service.” (Godin, S. Chapter 16. In This is marketing) Therefore, when consumers like me think of China Southern Airlines, what we think of is the high-quality service that matches the higher ticket price.

The core value of “safety first”

“Cheap” is another way to say “scared”. I think this view of Godin is very valuable. What’s interesting is if it is linked with airlines. The literal meaning has already made consumers feel scared. “When you’re the cheapest, you’re not promising change. You’re promising the same, but cheaper.” (Godin, S. Chapter 16. In This is marketing) Safety is what consumers value most about airplanes. China Southern Airlines adheres to the core value of “safety first”, which has met my psychological needs for safety and made me feel more at ease. However, the high price gives it the confidence to change. This change makes me firmer in my choice. During the pandemic period, China Southern Airlines paid great attention to flight safety and constantly adjusted its services to deal with possible infectious incidents. So far, China Southern Airlines has not had any on-board infection transmission incident, which provides important evidence for strengthening their core value of “safety first”.

The idea of helping consumers save as much time as possible

The high punctuality rate is another reason why I am willing to pay for its high ticket prices. I would rather pay more to ensure that my plan will not be constantly changed due to delays! In addition, compared to arriving late or on time, another reason I love China Southern Airlines is that their flight time is often shorter than the planned flight time. Arriving early allowed me to avoid having to endure the roar of the airplane engine for an extra minute in the air.

Intimate service in details

Drinks are always available on China Southern Airlines’ aircraft. In addition, even on flights that do not fly during meal times, most of them will provide customers with free meals or a snack. This kind of service allows me to rush to the airport without worrying about whether I need to reserve time for meals. In addition, China Southern Airlines has launched online check-in and online seat selection for customers very early. Since then, I don’t have to worry that I cannot choose an aisle seat because of my late arrival at the airport. Its services continue to meet my detailed requirements for travel.

Value-added services for frequent travelers

China Southern Airlines also provides free upgrade services to customers who travel frequently on their flights like me. When I returned to Wuhan from my vacation this week, I enjoyed a more spacious and comfortable riding space than in economy class. The front and rear spacing of the high-end economy class seats has been expanded from 79 cm in the normal economy class to 89 cm-94 cm, which increases the space by 40%, allowing my legs to stretch more, and the high-end economy class gives me a more private space. This kind of service seems inconspicuous, but in fact, it is an emotional expression, which expresses China Southern Airlines’ concern for customers. As Godin said, “What your customers want from you is for you to care enough to change them.” I think it has increasingly changed my pursuit of comfort during the journey.

Pricing is a marketing tool, not simply a way to get money. Although China Southern Airlines will get better profits because of the slightly higher pricing. But for me, its pricing is more regarded by me as a “safe, efficient and trustworthy” service guarantee.

--

--