Freddy is knocking at your door (literally)

Tanzania Jackson
Marketing Right Now
2 min readNov 25, 2019

Before I met my boyfriend, I was not into video games at all. I thought they were boring and frankly a waste of time. But after being with him for 4 years and my love language being quality time, I have learned how to watch and like when he and other people play video games. I particularly favor horror games. I don’t know why, I guess I like being scared in my spare time, though I don’t dare watch any people play a scary game before I go to bed.

In the video game world, there is a game called Five Nights at Freddy’s and it is terrifying. Basically possessed animatronics are trying to kill you, you know just your typical Tuesday night. Well, the game just got even scarier as they have announced that they will be launching an AR version.

Now the Five Nights at Freddy’s games, aka FNAF, already has a cult following with many games, books, and theories behind the series. The game falls under the indie game scene which means the game developers have more freedom over their material. What I find crazy about the game is that you will be terrorized in real life. When I watch others play the game, there is a separation between reality and the game world. Now with the game coming to life, I feel as though it will open new fears and the door to interacting with the brand in a whole new way.

Overall I think this AR game fits well for the FNAF franchise. Earlier this year they had launched a VR game so it only makes sense that they would venture into this territory. Many people love the game and the story behind it so I can only assume that my YouTube recommendations will be full of videos about the game. The game has not launched yet but there has been a lot of praise and interest to how the story will play out. In the meantime, I won’t be looking for any AR animatronics to be hiding in my closet.

--

--