From Sales To School: My First Marketing Class

Karen(Yitong) He
Marketing Right Now
2 min readSep 2, 2021

After some years working as a biotech salesperson, I am now back to school and pursing a Master of Science degree in Biotechnology Management. I have worked in small biotech, medium biotech to large biotech and experienced different styles of marketing from various companies. The experience had truly made me realized how important a good marketing department can make a difference in regard to the revenue and quota.

Marketing plays a vital role on brand awareness and that indicates how much your clients trust your products, thus directly affect how easy a salesperson’s life would be. Fun fact: not all companies have a marketing department and salespeople often need to be their own marketer and promote the product. All the way from designing promotion flyer to product presentation, anything that will help selling, we do it.

However, without any formal education on marketing, I was struggling a lot and had to learn as I go. Now that I have the opportunity to learn more, I am very excited about this course and I believe it can help me grow as a salesperson alongside with improving my marketing skills.

My expectation for this class is to learn how to create useful content, how to launch different types of campaigns, and the most importantly is to be a better storyteller because who doesn’t love a good story. And English is my second language, I am often very shy in regard to writing long content and publish it. Nor did I have much experience in blogging other than my short lived blog about boys when I was 12… This is indeed very refreshing and I am honestly impressed by how much I have written so far with a self assumption that it has a good flow. I am half joking about the good flow! I welcome any suggestions, good or bad, be as brutal, I am a salesperson and my skin is as thick as it can get.

--

--

Karen(Yitong) He
Marketing Right Now

Biotech sales professional now back to grad school and sharing my experience.