Just a spoon full of chocolate makes your life better

Tanzania Jackson
3 min readOct 28, 2019

--

I like to think of myself as a chocolate cake connoisseur. Just like Oprah loves bread, I love chocolate cake. Anytime I go to a bakery or a restaurant with chocolate cake on the menu, I make sure to grab a slice.

I can not express to you how much I love chocolate cake. If I was asked what my favorite meal was, I would tell you it is chocolate cake. It is very rare that I encounter a cake that I don’t like unless it is dry. Dry cake is the worst as I feel like I shouldn’t need to guzzle down a drink as I'm eating cake unless it is fudgy.

This brings me to my favorite cake, known as the Chocolate Spoon Lovin’ Cake. The first time I had this cake I was at a popular lunch chain called McAllister’s Cafe. I went to lunch with my mother and gazed at the menu. I noticed the cake and the name intrigued me. So my mother and I ordered a slice and we sat down at a table.

When this cake was placed on the table it was like the heavens opened up and the choir was singing an angelic song. I could not wait to get a bite of the decadent cake as a whiff of it had softly grazed my nose. The magnificent smell of chocolate and vanilla filled the air, I could no longer resist the cake. My first bite of the cake is something that I will never forget. The fork had a mixture of moist chocolate cake and fudgy pudding. It was the most delicious combination of sweet cake and semisweet pudding. From that point on, I was in love with the cake and every time I went back to McAllister’s I would get it.

So you could understand my disappointment when they took the cake away this spring. One day I went to the restaurant and the cake, as well as other items, were off the menu. I was devastated. Half of the reason why I frequented the establishment so much was because of the cake. Just as I thought I would never get my favorite cake again, I began to do some digging on the internet and found the supplier of the delightful dessert. For a whole cake, which was about 8 slices, it would cost $80.00 plus shipping.

Now, I had access to other cakes in the area. In fact, a shop called the Cake Bake Shop has a world-renowned chocolate cake, which many celebrities have traveled to eat and it has been shown on Food Network a few times. But it wasn’t the same. The Chocolate Spoon Lovin’ Cake had made me as their long-time customer so no other cake could take its place. Even if the other cake was considerably cheaper.

My point is, I would have and still will pay any amount that the supplier of my chocolate cake asks because I believe in the quality of food that they give me. But most importantly, I will keep paying for the feeling of satisfaction I get when I eat that cake. And that my friends, is priceless.

--

--