Karen(Yitong) He
Marketing Right Now
2 min readDec 15, 2021

--

Marketing is more than what you thought

Here I am, writing this blog late at night in bed, trying to survive through final’s week and reflecting on this semester. Being in sales, I am no stranger to marketing, having to work very closely to the marketing department and sometimes we have to be the marketer ourselves because not every company has a sophisticated marketing department. Before this class, I was quite familiar with tangible measuring metric because everything is measured in the business world and your money is dependent on it, having to tell a good story in order to sell your products, figure out what your target clients are and how to reach them so that I can reach my quota so that I can be successful at my job.

However, I was never a writer and good at real-time marketing like posting content on Linkedin or writing a blog. I was never confident enough in my writing skills, especially content writing because that involves a lot more creativity and storytelling skills. I am always good at in-person storytelling where I don’t have to formally promote something with my writing rather than talk my way into the client’s emotions. After taking this class, I understand the importance of real-time marketing and building your brand on this digital world is very important. In addition, learning different marketing strategies like newsjacking make me realize there is so much more to marketing; and there are different ways to capture the audience’s attention.

This marketing class taught me ways to expand on the client base and how to catch the right timing to maximize your effort. Because knowing when is the best time to promote something has always been the biggest challenge for me as a marketer/salesperson and I had limited knowledge on the strategies. Other than knowing the best time, having different marketing strategies also enhances your success and it teaches you to be aware of the current trends. Speaking of current trends, this class has also taught me the importance of being present with your customers because our customer bases are changing which traditional marketing will most likely not work well for them. Also the need to be socially aware and be aware of what you say on the internet has a huge impact on your company’s livelihood.

Overall, I learned a lot in this class and I look forward to implementing all the knowledge into real-life!

--

--

Karen(Yitong) He
Marketing Right Now

Biotech sales professional now back to grad school and sharing my experience.