My Perspective of Marketing and Challenges I may incur in the future

Emmanuel Sebeh
Marketing Right Now
3 min readMay 14, 2021

My reflection of the future of marketing has really been shaped after going through several lessons of my Graduate studies. I must admit that in my part of the world I was stuck with the believe that modern marketing may take a while before it hit my part of the world (Ghana, west Africa). Little did I know that, I was already surrounded by numerous marketing strategies which Yeshiva University brought my attention. Discussions throughout the semester especially on bid data, culture and research and marketing channels coupled with numerous case studies has shaped my perception in digital marketing.

As I stated there are quite a number new insights I have learnt in the semester, some key factors among them are as follows:

Arguments needs to be supported with data

I have come to realize that there’s nothing in this world that can be said without having to support it with data, marketing is just like making a case in court, you can’t accuse somebody without proving to the court indeed the person did this or that. Same way marketers need to explain or give reasons why this product is needed by consumers. All I’m trying to say is you can have a solution to a problem which genuine may be true, but until you explain to your audience in that case consumers that this product has this quality, can last or this amount of time and human friendly, you can go on and on with it just to make sure you are not walking alone but there’s a motive behind your product. Data simplifies things for marketers, backing your arguments helps to make communication, selling effective and as marketers this makes easy to sell.

Creating “the Big Idea” Concept

The big idea concept has to do with creating a marketing campaign that is different from the usual. All my life I never realize there could be one unique thing such as ‘The big idea’’ that marketers can channel their brands through to consumers. I now know how important this can influence a brand positioning in the marker. A big idea can also contribute to push a brand into emerging as a change agent in a challenging or saturated market. Onca a brand discovers its big idea supports it with data and insights from research, it begins to lead the ladder in the market. This I believe as marketers we should be cautious enough involve the big idea concept because that could be the missing ingredient to stay be on top.

Importance of Culture in Marketing

As marketers it’s always important to understand how dynamic and different the world is, mostly marketers tend to miss out especially when it comes to how you present your insights and ideas to a new market. Greater awareness and understanding of the key dimensions of culture can help us to communicate better with customers across different markets and regions in more subtle ways. By being both more culturally sensitive and communicating more compelling messages, you can significantly grow your business beyond your home market. Global brands like Coca Cola, KFC, Samsung among others over the years have discovered how important culture is when it comes to marketing. With this, marketing campaign in US will definitely be different from China market, even the approach product specifications and purpose are among other factors that needs to considered when entering a new a market. I’m glad Professor Joanne Tombrakos played a critical role in opening my mind to all these developments.

Some challenges I may face in my Career:

  1. Finding the right data to communicate my ideas
  2. Finding the right channel for a marketing campaign
  3. Understanding my audience well enough to market to them

--

--