Ring shopping is no longer a Rocky situation with Rare Carat

Tanzania Jackson
Marketing Right Now
4 min readOct 20, 2019

If you were to ask anyone from my family or friends, they would be the first to tell you that I am not very fond of romance movies. I think they are corny and completely unrealistic.

Let’s set the scene of your typical sappy romantic movie. It’s Manhattan and its raining. A man is running in the rain without a jacket or an umbrella, he looks like he’s on a mission. Why is he running? No one knows but he is miraculously making his way through the crowded Manhattan streets to a high rise building. There he makes it to the 14th floor of the building where he bursts into a meeting full of top executives with a woman presenting at the head of the table. Everyone stops and stares at the man. The woman, also in complete and utter shock asks the man what is he doing there. The man goes into a speech about fate, love and how he never felt complete until he met the woman. He apologizes for a stupid thing he did and slowly walks up to the woman at the head of the table. She tells him it is too late and he will just have to move on. He gets to the woman and tells her there’s no moving on from his destiny. He gets on his knee, pulls out a ring asks the woman to marry him. She hesitates then accepts, they share a passionate kiss as everyone in the room claps for them. The scene goes black.

I always had questions about these things, like why is the man always running? How does he get clearance to get into the office and how does he know where she is? Also, why does he have a ring? Did he plan for this? Did he just keep in his pocket until the scene was dramatic enough? Especially with rings being an important factor for a woman. I mean this is the ring you will be walking around with for (hopefully)the rest of your life.

The same questions are coming up for myself, as my longterm boyfriend and I have been talking about marriage and a ring. I consider myself a thrifty shopper, I always try to make sure I get the best bang for my buck. When it comes to rings, I want to make sure we’re getting the best price for such a high ticket item.

What’s interesting is that in the bridal and ring world there are companies that work to ensure you are getting the best deals and the diamond you want. One of those organizations is Rare Carat. Rare Carat uses AI in the form of a chatbot named Rocky. By setting criteria such as cut, color, hue, price, and others, Rocky uses a mathematical equation to show the tradeoffs to diamond buyers for the important purchase.

Rocky is the first AI of its kind for the jewelry world and I think its a benefit to potential buyers like my boyfriend (and myself). Rocky pulls all his information from the Rare Carat site from the last four months and from there he is able to show what the best diamond choice is for you. This is important because I feel like when you go into an actual jewelry store, they mostly care about the sale and not making sure they are meeting everything aspect of your criteria. Rocky is an important addition to the Rare Carat site as he is trying to help potential buyers find the best deal. This idea can be found on the first page of Rare Carat which is important to their consumer base.

When I was testing the AI on their site, it was very easy to follow. Once you set your criteria, the diamonds pop up and you can browse through them all. On the side, it even evaluates if it is a good price or a bad price for the quality of the diamond you are viewing. I must say that once it is time for me to get serious and look at rings, Rare Carat will be my first stop.

--

--